Turkey Meatballs

Back in August, I made perhaps the world’s most expensive jar of tomato sauce.Β  Seriously, I think my Farmer’s Market tomatoes cost about $10 per lb, not to mention the hours of labor it took to make a single jar of sauce. But I suppose that is besides the point. I had fun, so it was worth it! I was very excited about the prospect of selecting the perfect roma tomatoes and preparing all of my canning supplies. I’m pretty sure I based my recipe on Barbara Kingsolver’s “Family Secret Tomato Sauce” although I didn’t follow it exactly. Canning is a tricky process (if you don’t do it correctly, you could get very sick i.e. botulism), so I was a little bit nervous about cracking this jar open 7 months later. Anyway, good news! Nate and I had the sauce along with turkey meatballs and pasta last night and we are still alive.

The main ingredients: homemade sauce, Ronzoni smart taste elbow pasta, and Kosher ground turkey breast.The main ingredients

My tomato sauce!Highly prized tomato sauce

I asked Nate to bring over some lettuce (anything but iceberg) and he did an excellent job – organic mixed greens!Spring Mix!

Pasta and sauce bubbling away.On the stove

Baked turkey meatballs – yum!Turkey meatballs!

All together….Din-DinUp close

I couldn’t find a meatball recipe that I liked, so I decided to make up my own.

Ingredients:

1 lb ground turkey breast

1 medium onion, finely chopped

1 slice of double fiber bread, crumbled into breadcrumbs

1/4 cup egg whites (or 1 large egg)

salt, pepper, garlic powder, and oregano to taste

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350 and spray a baking sheet with oil

Mix all ingredients in a bowl just until combined

Roll into 12 meatballs and place on a baking sheet

Bake for about 25-30 minutes, flipping halfway through

Allow to cool for a few minutes and then add to pasta sauce, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

