FoodBuzz Party at David Burke Townhouse

Food Buzz is celebrating 1 million foodie blog posts and they decided to throw us a party! The event was held last night at the swanky upper-east side restaurant David Burke Townhouse. I arrived around 6pm and the party was already in full swing. The front of the restaurant featured an open bar where I snagged myself a glass of red wine:

wine

As I moved towards the main dining room I was greeted by dozens (maybe hundreds?) of other foodies and bloggers. The camera flashes were fast and furious as we all tried to capture the beautifully presented dishes. Below are some of the highlights:

Scallop Cerviche (took a photo, but cerviche isn’t really my thang):

Scallop Cerviche

An array of sushi (I tried one of the crab roll pieces – delish!):

Sushi

Crab roll

Carving station – prime rib and turkey (I tried a slice of the roast turkey with au jus sauce):

Prime Rib

Turkey

One of my favorite appetizers was the mini beef slider. It was topped with a pickle, teeny bit of cheese, and a tomato on a toothpick. It was cooked rare (I usually order well done!) and I have to say that I really enjoyed it. The apple tartlet in this photo got lost somewhere in the crowd – it never made it to my mouth :-(  I did, however, have a delicious brie and carmelized onion toast point. Yum!

Apple Tart and Slider

Next came a tray of lamb chops (also rare!). I almost passed on these, but then the chef himself (David Burke!) appeared by my side and I figured I should be daring and go for it. I took a few nibbles, the lamb was quite chewy, but pretty good.

Lamb Chops

Next came my favorite part – dessert! I tried a shot glass size portion of caramel panna cotta. SO creamy and the little spoon was really cute :-)

Mini Caramel Panna Cotta

Mini cinnamon rolls (about the size of a ping pong ball) – check out the little oven that was on the waiter’s tray:

Mini Cinnamon Rolls

Finally, a tree full of raspberries and cheesecake lollipop bites! Maybe it was the wine talking, but I announced to everyone within earshot that these were the BEST idea ever, hehe.

Cheesecake lollipops on a tree

As I juggled my glass of wine, camera, and small plates I mingled with some other bloggers. I was impressed with everyone’s blog creativity and love of food. Throughout the evening I was fortunate enough to meet Esther from Ambitious Deliciousness, Jason from Me So Hungry, Emily from Super Caloric Chalk Dust, Ashley from A Healthy, Happier Bear, and Sarah from Tales of Expansion.  There are so many new blogs that I want to read – my Google Reader is going to be out of control!

I was up and at em’ at 5:45am this morning, so by 7pm I was feeling a little tired and decided to head home. I left David Burke Townhouse with a full and happy belly and headed towards the West Side. The weather was beautiful and there was still daylight, so I walked through the Park. At the risk of looking like a tourist, I snapped these photos of the Lake near 74th Street:

Central Park

The scene was very relaxing – quite a difference from the crowds and craziness of midtown.

Central Park in the evening

By the time I got home I was feeling a little hungry (umm, and maybe a a little tipsy), so I whipped up a snack. I went on a mission during my lunch break today and look what I scored:

PB2 i.e. powdered peanut butter!!

PB2

Usually you have to order this stuff online, but I found a place in Manhattan that sells it! Tanya Zuckerbrot i.e. “Celebrity Nutritionist” (and author of the F-Factor Diet) has an office in Midtown that sells specialty foods. I’ve been seeing this stuff all over the blog world and couldn’t wait to get my own! The back of the jar describes PB2 as such: Made with premium quality peanuts that are slow roasted and pressed to remove fat. 2 Tbs of PB2 has 53 calories (compared with 200 calories in 2 Tbs of regular peanut butter). The only ingredients are peanuts, salt, and sugar. We all know how much I LOVE peanut butter, so this could be life changing :-)  For my snack, I defrosted a cup of mixed berries and then mixed 2 Tbs of PB2 in a plain Chobani yogurt. I mixed the berries in the peanut buttery yogurt. SO GOOD! As Jenna says – the mixture tasted like peanut butter mousse.

Berries and PB2 Yogurt

Up close

8 Responses

  1. That looked like a great event! I am glad you had fun =) and all the food looked delish!

  2. I think you need to start bringing crazed med student friends to these events.

  3. Hey there! We didn’t get to chat last night but I just wanted to pop in and say hi because I took note of your name tag. :) Good to know about PB2!

  4. awesome recap, megan. it was so good to see you again last night! and i’m so psyched that you’ve clued us all in to the no-shipping-fee-necessary local pb2 source. i’m so going to be taking advantage of that and spreading the word.

  5. Hi Megan,

    Too bad we didn’t get to meet last night. Your blog concept is quite interesting. I was reading your bio and noticed you went to Weslyan. My roommate went there as well and is also a runner but not a cook, haha.

    Anyway, great recap and hopefully we can connect at future food events. If you get a chance you can check out my post at Hartley Confections.

  6. It was really great meeting you!

  7. And when you bring Jen along, don’t forget her fiance! That all looks Delicious! Lamb cooked rare is definitely the right way to eat it in my book! ;)

  8. Hi Megan,
    I am so glad you liked the PB2! My patients love it too! Feel free to come by anytime for a jar– I would love to meet you in person!
    I love your blog!
    All the best,
    Tanya Zuckerbrot, MS, RD

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

