Grocery Habits

I think (in fact, I KNOW) that I enjoy grocery shopping much more than the average person. I like everything about the experience – strolling the aisles, reading package descriptions, stocking up on sales, daydreaming about new meal possibilities. And the consumer in me loves to bring home shiny, new things – especially if the shiny, new things taste good :-) You can’t really say that about shoes! I use Mint to track my expenditures and I usually spend about $40 per week on groceries, $20 per week on salads from the office cafeteria, and maybe another $10-20 on restaurants/bars. I think I could spend a lot less if I tried, but good food  make me happier than most things :-)

Here’s a typical 10 days – 2 weeks of grocery shopping:

Wednesday, May 6th – Trader Joe’s:

  • apples
  • french roast whole coffee beans
  • dried cherries
  • spinach
  • Celtic cheddar cheese
  • strawberries
  • frozen berries
  • gummies and chocolate chips (for Nate)

Trader Joe's Haul

Saturday, May 9th – Fairway:

  • Cadbury fruit & nut bar, yogurt covered pretzels, Annie’s graham bunnies (this is why you shouldn’t grocery shop when you’re hungry!)
  • more apples
  • Dr. Kracker whole grain crackers
  • wheat germ
  • lara bars
  • cucumber & dill cottage cheese

Fairway

Friday May 15th – Trader Joe’s and Fairway again:

  • apple chicken sausage
  • natural, un-salted peanut butter
  • yellow onion
  • organic skim milk
  • whole wheat baking flour
  • lemon
  • organic sweet peas
  • TJ’s canola cooking spray
  • pasta shells
  • bananas
  • part-skim ricotta cheese
  • 2% Fage greek yogurt

Fairway Again

Along with my homemade bread and the yogurt and granola samples that I’ve been receiving, these two shopping trips kept my apartment’s kitchen stocked for almost 2 weeks.

2 Responses

  1. Hi Megan,

    I came across your blog and saw that you enjoy Greek yogurt – namely Chobani. Stonyfield Farm makes Oikos Organic which is thick, creamy and filling just like the other brands you’ve tried – but, it’s ORGANIC. As you probably know, organic means it’s made without artificial colors, flavors or sweeteners, and it’s made from organic milk produced without the use of toxic persistent pesticides, chemical fertilizers, antibiotics, or artificial growth hormones (ie rBST). We feel that organic is not only healthier for you, but better for the planet as well.

    I’d love to send you coupons to give Oikos Organic a try. If you’re interested, shoot me an email at Kdrociak@stonyfield.com and let me know where to send them.

    Take care!
    Kristina
    Stonyfield Farm

  2. I’m glad I’m not the only one out there who loooves to grocery shop! I look forward to it. I love discovering new products to try!

    http://healthyfitmama.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

