Vegetables and Muscles

On Sunday evening I had a very good salad from Whole Foods – the variety of tastes and textures kept things interesting!

Lots of veggies

Up closeIn the mix:

  • mixed greens
  • yellow bell pepper
  • steamed kale
  • spicy eggplant
  • roasted apples (with cinnamon!)
  • few cubes of tofu
  • Tbs of chicken salad
  • Tbs black bean salad
  • wheatberry-apple-pineapple salad

This salad fortified me for a long night of laundry :-)

Monday morning started off very slow (didn’t wake up until 8:13am!). Breakfast was coffee, organic blueberries, plain non-fat Greek yogurt, and a cup of cinnamon puffins. Also, my adora calcium disk isn’t pictured, but I have at least one (500mg calcium each) per day.

Breakfast

I took a little walk outside during lunch to stretch my legs. And then around 2pm ate my usual cafeteria salad and unsweetened iced green tea. I’m so boring!

LunchAs usual:

  • mixed greens, carrots, red onions, mushrooms
  • pinto beans
  • feta cheese
  • whole grain croutons
  • balsamic vinaigrette
  • dried cranberries
  • roasted broccoli

Throughout the afternoon I snacked on an apple and some yogurt covered pretzels. These little guys are addictive – it’s a good thing I portioned them out in a zip loc baggie before leaving my house :-)

Snacks

Around 6pm I headed to my gym. I started off with a strength-training workout from Women’s Health Magazine. As I try to figure out my hamstring/butt/IT band issues, I’m incorporating more strengthening and stretching exercises into my routine. I find that this type of workout is a lot more effective than “junk cardio”. I’m realizing that a few minutes of dedicated weight training is more important than mindless elliptical. That being said, I still love to watch trashy MTV shows while I elliptisize (is that a word?)

My workout involved “super-sets” which are basically sets of exercises done in quick succession. I did this routine twice without stopping.

Note: All exercises were done with a 9lb weight.

  • dumbbell step-ups (10 on each side)
  • stability ball ab pike (15)
  • dumbbell chest press (10)
  • stability ball leg curl (15)
  • dumbbell row (10 on each side)
  • cross-body mountain climbers (20 on each side)
  • lunges (10 on each side)
  • plank (45 seconds)

After going through this routine twice, I completed 3 x 10 squats, 30 push-ups, and some ab work. Followed up by foam rolling for the IT band and stretching.

And then….30 easy minutes on the elliptical. Pheww!

I was ready for lots of water and a banana by the time I left the gym.

Banana

Dinner was another pita pizza. Tonight’s version was made with a whole wheat pita, organic mozzarella, freshly sliced tomato, sundried tomatoes, sea salt, and cracked pepper. Yum!

Pizza

And dessert was the last two (yes, two!) whole-wheat carrot cake cupcakes that I made over the weekend. More about these later :-)

Carrot Cake

4 Responses

  1. Ahh…I can’t wait to hear about the whole wheat carrot cake muffins. mmm…

    And don’t you just love the whole foods salad bar? I love all their options and making a hodgepodge of a salad. SO GOOD! :D

  2. That Whole Foods Salad looks great! If that’s what people meant when they said “salad,” they’d eat a whole lot more of it.

    I love the pita pizzas idea! That’s a great no-meat meal in a pinch, when usually, no-meat meal in a pinch = junk food.

  3. I adore carrot cake. Does the whole wheat make them taste different??

  4. I’ll have to try one of those pita pizzas soon! It looks so good!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

