JP Morgan Corporate Challenge – NYC

Corporate Challenge

Back in March, my company had sign-ups for the annual JP Morgan-Chase Corporate Challenge. For those of you unfamiliar, this 3.5 mile charity race is held every year in Central Park. Corporations have teams of employees enter the race and then the top teams compete in championships later in the fall. The NYC race attracts so many runners (30,000 to be exact!) that it has to split up into two races. Last night (Wednesday, June 10) was my company’s night to participate. As I mentioned, I signed up back in March, and wasn’t sure if I should still run due to my current leg problems. However, after the Sports Doc and physical therapist cleared me of a stress fracture, I figured it would be OK to attempt an easy run/jog/walk combo. Also, I wanted to spend time with my co-workers and get free stuff (t-shirts and snacks)!

Immediately after work, I walked the mile or so to the starting line (74th & Central Park West Drive). The crowds were so dense that it took me 20 minutes to squeeze my way up to the “Runner’s Start”. And from there it still took me 4 minutes to cross the starting line! I’m so glad that this race is only once a year…the amount of people and crowding is just insane.

How did I feel? Well, something is still definitely wrong with my right hamstring/butt/IT band. No doubt about it. On a scale of 1-10, the pain was probably around a 7 (BAD) for the first 2 miles. However, after mile 2, I started to get really happy just because I was running (my first “real” run in many weeks). My leg seemed to loosen up at this point and I picked up the pace. I finished in around 30 minutes, 27 seconds (around 8:40 pace, I think).  This was at least 4 or 5 minutes slower than last year, but I can’t really complain. I’m just happy to be running anything at all right now!

Now, I’m off to the gym! I’m planning on completing the “super set” strength workout I got from Women’s Health Magazine as well as some stretching and foam rolling. The good news is – my leg doesn’t feel any worse than it did before yesterday’s run.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

