Mighty Montauk Triathlon 2009

We started our Saturday early – Nate was on his way to the race site by 6am. Meanwhile, I grabbed a coffee from a local food shack and slowly began to wake-up.

Coffee spot

I connected to the hotel’s WIFI network in order to check my email and upload photos. I snacked on an apple and some prunes. Laugh if you must, but Trader Joe’s prunes are actually really yummy!

Blogging with fruit

I met Nate at his transition are and chatted with him as he prepared for the triathlon. The weather was perfect – sunny and 70 degrees.

Preparing for the race

The Mighty Montauk Triathlon had nearly 600 participants – there were so many bike racks!

Bike racks

Nate’s swim wave was scheduled to start at 7:55am. The water temperature was only around 55 degrees – a wet suit was necessary to brave the chilly water.

The start

I snapped this photo of Nate coming out of the water – 1 mile swim in 25 minutes. Woo-hoo!

Coming out of the water

As I shouted out his swim time (and other words of encouragement), Nate transitioned to the 22 mile bike portion of the race. I jogged about a mile to the local market and grabbed a toasted cinnamon raisin bagel. I asked for it plain because I wanted my stomach to cooperate as I jogged around in the warm, sunny weather.

Spectator fuel

Nate completed the 22 mile bike leg in around 53 minutes and then began the 10k (6.2 mile) run.

Mile 1

Nate finished the entire triathlon in 1 hour, 59 minutes, 59 seconds. 1st in his age group and 14th overall. Hooray!

Finish

After all my running around (plus lunges, squats, and push-ups while I was waiting near the finish-line!), I was hungry for a snack.

Snack

Around 12:30pm, we headed to the awards ceremony and party. While we waited for Nate to snag his award, we enjoyed some picnic food. I had 1/2 hamburger with lots of veggies and ketchup and some pasta and potato salad.

Lunch

Nate artfully decorated his burger with ketchup.

ketchup, yum.

I was excited to see that the picnic had Trader Joe’s maple sandwich cookies. I’ve been eyeing this up at TJ’s for the past few weeks and I’m glad I got to try them. Delicious!

Cookie!

Nate’s bike a.k.a. the Grey Goose

Fancy bike

After the awards ceremony we headed to the beach!

Shells

Sand Heart

Beach-y

Skipping stones.

Skipping stones

Beach

Hooray!

We liked the bulldog in this photo. He was very energetic! While on the beach, I was also feeling quite energetic. I decided to go for a little jog. And it felt GREAT!!! It was only for a few minutes, but it reminded me how much fun running can be. I wasn’t running for miles or time – instead I was just enjoying the breeze, the sand, and the feeling of going fast. My hamstring/IT band felt awesome today and I think it’s because I was so active. The more I move, the better it feels.

We liked the dog in this photo.

Around 7pm, we were ready for dinner. After perusing some of Montauk Village’s local offerings, we decided on the laid back Pizza Village. The weather had become a bit chilly, so we were ready for some warm, Italian comfort food.

Pizza Village

I had a craving mozzarella and the baked ziti with meatballs was exactly what I wanted. Soo much melty cheese! I ate about 75% of this dish and really enjoyed every bite.

Comfort Italian Food

Gooey cheese!

Nate chose the chicken tender sandwich with melted mozzarella, red peppers, and onions on homemade ciabbatta bread. I tried a piece of the bread and it was really yummy!

Nate's sandwich

After we stuffed our bellies, we decided to head back to the hotel and chill for the rest of the evening. With the sounds of the ocean and light rain in the background, I drifted off to sleep. I wish I could spend all summer in Montauk!

EDIT: I almost forgot to include a picture from our visit to Ben & Jerry’s! Saturday afternoon we stopped at the Montauk Scoop Shop and split the Cookie, Cookie Sundae. The service we received wasn’t that great (the staff wasn’t very nice and we were given chocolate ice cream instead of peanut butter cookie dough), but ice cream on the beach is still pretty fun!

Ben & Jerry's

6 Responses

  1. You two are quite adorable. Congrats to Nate on the awesome triathlon! Wow! Youare quite the power running/athlete couple. Sounds like you had a great weekend! Can’t wait to see you!

  2. Beautiful! But where in Montauk?

  3. congratz to your boy!! great job!

  4. You two are just too cute! And it’s awesome that you guys live this really healthy and active life together.

    tryingtobefit.wordpress.com

  5. yeah for nate! that is so amazingly awesome that he finished in that time. you two are so cute!

  6. Wow Nate! That’s a very impressive time. You’re going to have to go pro soon. I watched the Escape from Alcatraz last weekend and you would have served most of the competition. Meghan, good job blogging daily…its a huge commitment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

