French Meadow Hemp Tortillas

One day last week I arrived home to a note – my neighbor was holding a package for me. Upon knocking on the door, my neighbor  frantically pushed a large box into my arms and told me to refrigerate the contents ASAP. The outside of the box featured a little penguin icon as well as the words “perishable” and “freeze immediately”. I wasn’t expecting any deliveries, so this was an interesting surprise. I opened the box and discovered an array of products (packed on dry ice) from French Meadow Bakery. Hooray! Last week I sampled one of their hemp bagels - with 19 grams of protein and 13 grams of fiber, it was a nutrition powerhouse. French Meadow Bakery products are organic, kosher, vegan, yeast-free, and contain non-GMO ingredients. And they taste good too! You can purchase the products in certain specialty stores (Whole Foods) or online. Their website even has coupons!

French Meadow Hemp Bread

When I offered to make dinner on Friday night, Nate didn’t know what he was getting himself into, but he was a good sport! I centered dinner around the hemp tortillas and an array of leftovers I had in the freezer. After preheating a lightly oiled pan, I added a hemp tortilla and topped it with cooked, shredded chicken, black beans seasoned with cumin, and reduced fat Cabot cheddar cheese. Then I topped that mix with a second tortilla (for Nate) or folded the tortilla in half (for me). Once both sides were crispy and the cheese was melty – it was done! We ate these quesadilla-taco hybrids with a side of brown rice and salsa. This was a very high protein and fiber meal – yum!

Yum!

Leftovers for dinner

I ate every bite, along with an icy cold bottle of Stella Artois.

I ate it all!

8 Responses

  1. Thanks for the review. I have seen these on some blogs and wanted to try them. I love me some bagels!

  2. Interesting, I’ve been very curious about the bagels but I admit I don’t eat a lot of bagels. What was the texture like on the tortillas? Was the flavor more like a flour, whole wheat, or did it have more of a multi-grain flavor?

  3. The bagels were very seed-y and had a pleasant multi-grain taste. The hemp tortillas were a bit more “earthy”. The taste wasn’t too overpowering, but you could definitely tell that these products were packed with serious whole grains. I’d definitely buy the bagels again, but the tortillas were a bit more intense. I think I prefer the variety made by La Tortilla Factory.

  4. Looks good. I’ve never had hemp anything but I’m going to have to give it a try. That’s a ton of protein and fiber!

  5. stellllllaaaaa…haha, that’s all i think when i see that beer. i want to try the hemp stuff so bad, i just have to find it around here!

  6. Holly – Seinfeld is the best !! :-)

    French Meadow’s website has a store locator, perhaps you could try that?

  7. Hi Holly,

    Do you know if the hemp bagels/tortillas are gluten free? They look delicious.

  8. Katie – the hemp bagels and tortillas are yeast-free, but i think they still have gluten. French Meadow does offer some gluten-free products like rolls, pizza crust, and brownies. Yum!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

