Bridal Party Road Trip

I set my alarm pretty earlyyy for a Saturday (6:45am) and after I had my coffee, I set out for a run. Since I was visiting my family in Pennsylvania I didn’t have access to my gym. My leg was behaving fairly well, so I thought I’d try out a few miles. I’m happy to report that I was able to run 20 minutes mostly pain free! I had tightness in my IT band and knee, but overall I felt good. I went super slow and stretched and iced afterwards. The IT band strap that I’ve been wearing to stabilize the muscles and tendons seems to be helping. As I was waiting for Jen to pick me up, I enjoyed an orange and a Kashi crunchy almond granola bar. And I brought teddy grahams to snack on in the car!

breakfast for the road

teddy grahams logo

Jen drives

in the car

After my dress fitting and bit of bridal shop browsing, Jen’s sister and cousins joined us for lunch. I don’t think that the rest of the bridesmaid’s quite understood the concept of my blog – I guess photographing food does seem a little odd :-) Anywayyy, we drove around Doylestown a little bit before settling on the Cross Keys Diner for lunch. The diner was located in what seemed to be an old house – loved the cute wooden porch!

our lunch destination

Diner

Behind the counter, the day’s specials were listed on a chalkboard.  Cute!

meun board

I was hungry for some hearty diner food, so I ordered the Vegetarian Rachel sandwich. It contained two slices of rye bread with swiss cheese, sauerkraut, onions, and tomato stuffed in the middle. The bread was buttered and the sammy was grilled until everything inside was hot and the outside was crispy. It was good, but a little bit greasy! But I guess that’s to be expected at a diner ;-) I enjoyed the pickles that were served alongside, but passed on the chips. I’m a big french fry fan, but for some reason I’ve never liked potato chips all that much.

lunch!

The soon-to-be maid of honor, Jess, ordered the grilled chicken salad. Don’t all those veggies look so fresh and colorful? I was very impressed with the quality of this salad!

Grilled Chicken Salad

Jen ordered a classic diner breakfast. I like that she eats her eggs with ketchup! My philosophy is: the more ketchup, the better! Plus ketchup (and all cooked tomato products) contain a healthy dose of lycopene. Lycopene is a phytochemical (a carotenoid to be exact!) that is thought to prevent cancer, cardiovascular disease, and macular degeneration). Yum!

diner breakfast

The bride’s side of the bridal party: Joe (brideman), Adrienne (bridesmaid), Jen (the bride!), Krissy (bridesmaid), Jess (maid of honor), and me (bridesmaid)! I think I have a mouth full of gum in this photo. Oops!

The Bride's side

The wedding isn’t until next June, but the next year should be full of fun planning! I’m already plotting bachelorette party activities :-)

After we arrived back in Wilkes-Barre, I headed up to the mall for one of my favorite treats: chocolate covered frozen banana! I ordered my banana dipped in dark chocolate, peanut butter, and rolled in peanuts. It was very decadent, but at least the banana counts as a fruit! :-) I enjoyed my banana as I walked around the mall and Target.

frozen banana

My chocolate peanut banana snack kept me full until about 8 o’clock when it was time for dinner. I offered to cook dinner for my family and corn on the cob, turkey burgers with tomatoes, onions, and cheese were on the menu. I enjoyed my turkey burger on 1/2 toasted whole grain bun. With lots of ketchup for dipping, of course! I used Jen and Jesse’s Ranch Turkey Burgers for inspiration. I mixed a pound of  lean ground turkey breast with some diced raw onions and 1/2 packet of ranch dip seasoning. I formed 4 patties and cooked them on the George Forman grill. Topped with cheese and veggies, they passed my family’s taste test! Or so they told me :-)

turkey burger and corn on the cob

After dinner, I went to see The Hangover with some friends. It was a very funny movie. If you’re looking to laugh non-stop for 90 minutes, I highly recommend it!

When I arrived home, it was after midnight and I was in need of a midnight snack: yogi detox spice tea and a piece of buttered cinnamon swirl toast. Mmm.

king arthur flour cinnamon swirl toast

Sunday was a bit hectic, so I’m just posting the highlights! After a solid 9 hours of sleep, I enjoyed a nice cup of coffee on the back porch. I sat in the sun and it was a great way to start the day! For breakfast I chowed down on 1/2 cantaloupe filled with a Stonyfield Oikos greek yogurt (vanilla), and a Kashi crunchy almond granola bar.

Sunday breakfast

After I digested a bit, I grabbed an icy cold water bottle and set off on a brisky 40 minute walk. My leg was feeling a little stiff and achey and I didn’t want to push it by running two days in a row. When I returned home, I stretched and did 3 x 10 single leg squats, lunges, push-ups, tricep dips, and abs. Pheww! I was one sweaty girl afterwards. The next few hours were a whirlwind of showering, packing, and driving, so I forgot to take photos of lunch and snacks, but check out these peanut butter truffle brownies that I made. I made these this weekend so I could share with my family. Otherwise, I might be tempted to eat all of them myself!

peanut butter truffle brownies

so good!

After sitting in bumper to bumper traffic near the GW Bridge for nearly 2 hours (uggghhhh), I finally arrived home and unpacked the car. It was already 9pm and I was starving! I threw together a quick salad of lettuce, tomatoes, olives, and egg salad. To make the egg salad I mixed 2 chopped egg whites and 1 chopped egg with 1 Tbs mayo, 1 tsp mustard, and S & P. Quick and easy!

quick dinner

In other news, I’m headed to the Healthy Living Blogger Summit in Boston August 14-15. Woo hoo! The event is sponsored by some of one favorite companies (Stonyfield Farm yogurt!). On the agenda:

On Friday, August 14, the 125 attendees will be treated to an amazing ice-breaker cocktail party at a swanky Boston restaurant.

On Saturday, August 15, attendees will attend a day-long “conference” with tons of fun activities, product taste tests, informational speakers, and more. The day includes a Stonyfield and Mix My Granola breakfast bar, a lovely lunch, and a PM snack.

Plus we’ll be getting a swag bag from the summit sponsors(Stonyfield Farm, Zesty Cook, Food Buzz, Mix My Granola, Barney Butter, Amy’s Kitchen, Amazing Grass, Vega Foods, Pro Bar, Nanny’s Cucina, Oh! Nuts, and Pom Wonderful).

Hooray, I can’t wait to meet other food and fitness bloggers and spend a weekend in Boston!

 Hope your return to the work week is a good one :-)

6 Responses

  1. Seriously. I. Loved. The. Hangover.

    I nearly peed myself.

    ‘Do you have to park so close?’

    bahahaha

  2. lol. Yes, isn’t it strange to photograph food around people who don’t “get it.” They think we’re obsessed or something. he he. Sounds like a fun weekend.

  3. Yay, I’m headed to the Summit too!!

  4. Hi Megan!
    I’m so glad that you are going to the Healthy Living Summit – I am going as well, can’t wait to meet you. I really like your blog a lot! See you in August. :)

  5. That’s so funny, my friends and fam dont get the whole “healthy lifestyle” blog either! I feel soooo nuts taking pix of my food when I am with them, haha!

    And I WISH I was going to the Summit so I can be amongst other weirdos like myself! ;)

  6. It was so great to see you! We need to meet up more often. I just want to note that I did give away some bacon and did not eat all 5 pieces on my own! ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

