Working Girl

My Monday was fairly productive – I stayed at the office until around 7pm to get caught up on work, fit in a quick gym visit afterwards, and FINALLY cleaned my kitchen/living rooms floors. That task had been on my to-do list for at least 3 weeks…

Breakfast was coffee with skim, 2 sliced kiwis, a crunchy Kashi granola bar, and an adora calcium supplement

Coffee and kiwi

Kashi Crunchy

Around 11:30am my stomach demanded a snack – herbal tea and individually wrapped prunes. The senior citizen special :-)

Prunes

My library book (Sophie’s Choice) is over-due, so I decided to speed read while I ate my lunch. I found a sunny bench near Central park and enjoyed my usual salad:

  • romaine/mixed greens, carrots, red onion
  • green beans in sherry vinegar
  • chickpeas/kidney beans (~1/2 cup)
  • feta cheese
  • dried cranberries
  • croutons
  • 2 Tbs balsamic vinaigrette

Lunch

Over the weekend I received a box PACKED full of Newman’s Own Organic goodies. Yay, so exciting! I will do a full review later, but I couldn’t resist breaking into some hermit cookies yesterday afternoon. These little guys are about the shape and size of Fig Newtons. They have a delicious molasses flavor, contain organic raisins, and are very soft and chewy. The best part – each cookie contains 10% RDA if iron (from the molasses)!! I ate 4 cookies :-)

Hermits

After 35 minutes on the elliptical (I was feeling tireddddd….), I headed home and created a wonderful salad for dinner.

  • Romaine lettuce
  • orange sections
  • 1/4 avocado
  • 2 Tbs supremely spicy hummus
  • 1/2 cup 1% cottage cheese
  • 1 Tbs salsa
  • a few tostitos crumbled on top

summer salad

Along with my salad I munched on 2 Wasa crackers with peanut butter and a little bit of Nate’s strawberry jam.

crackers with pb&j

After some writing and blog work, I treated myself to an ice cream cone with Edy’s Cookie Dough. Yum!!

ice cream cone

After dessert, I went on my cleaning frenzy and finished the night with clean sheets, an empty sink, and shiny floors :-)

p.s. Nate and I went to the grocery store on Sunday and I thought I’d show you what our haul looked like. Not too many fruits & veggies were purchased, but that’s mostly because I buy salads from the office cafeteria for lunch M-F and I already had apples, potatoes, onions, OJ, and tons of dried fruit on hand.

DSCF3169

  • Smucker’s natural pb
  • Strawberry jam
  • 1% cottage cheese
  • avocado
  • chocolate chips AND peanut butter chips (Nate’s breakfast of choice)
  • Cabot sharp cheddar and light cheddar
  • Garden of Eden organic tortilla chips (“healthy” nachos are on the menu this week)
  • Edy’s slow churned x 2 (a summertime necessity!)
  • Stonyfield Farm organic skim milk
  • Tostitos
  • Whole wheat bread with extra Omega 3’s (just add pb & j)
  • Powerade (for Nate’s 4 hour bike rides)
  • Ice cream cones (great for ice cream portion control)
  • Romaine lettuce (salads, yum!)
3 Responses

  1. I blogged my weekly grocery shop at the weekend – it’s so interesting seeing what everyone buys!

    Your daily salads never fail to give me envy by the way. Yum!

  2. TWO Ice creams?!?!?! I love you!

  3. Mmm, so much tasty food. I didn’t even know that you could buy individually wrapped prunes.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

