6 miles and another visit with the Doc

On Tuesday evening I decided to tackle the entire 6 mile loop of Central Park, something I haven’t done in months! I ran at a comfortably slow pace and finished in around 58 minutes. My leg felt OK for the first few miles, but it did get a little tighter towards the end. Also, the IT band strap is a definite no-no for outdoor runs! It kept slipping down my leg! Thank goodness I have the option of using KT tape when the weather is warm.

Upon waking up Wednesday morning, I was a little bit sore (dull and ache-y right hamstring/butt), but I tried to start the day on a positive note. I tried a new variety of cereal for breakfast and loved it! Today’s breakfast was coffee with milk, green tea, 1 cup plain low-fat yogurt, mini box of raisins, and some Nature’s Path Heritage Grains Flakes. Yum! Per usual, I made sure to take my Adora calcium supplement mid-morning.

Frida coffee mug

yogurt and cereal

Adora calcium disks

I did a quickie gym workout at lunch time:

30 minute hill routine on the elliptical, 3 x 10 push-ups, abs, stretching, and foam rolling.

Lunch was the usual salad:

lunch

  • romaine, mushrooms, onions, carrots
  • kidney beans (~1/2 cup)
  • feta cheese
  • Tbs balsamic vinaigrette
  • croutons
  • dried cranberries
  • spoonful Kimchi
  • spoonful of roasted potatoes
  • a bit of arugula and strawberries

Yum! This combo of flavors was great!

Around 4pm I snacked on 4 Newman’s Own Organics Hermits. I finished the box in 3 days…At least these cookies are organic and contain lots of iron :-)

Hermits

I went back to the sports doc today for more trigger point injections in my hamstring (the injections stimulate the healing process) and meso-therapy in my IT band (injections of a homeopathic medicine just under the skin). Today’s session was pretty intense – my hamstring muscle was going wild on the table. The doc said I’m going to be sore for a few days and will probably feel more fatigued than usual – my leg is going to be working overtime to heal itself! The doc put the kabash on running for a few days and I want to follow his instructions to a T. The last treatment that I received really seemed to help my hamstring – I was able to run again! So I will keep you posted on how I feel over the next few days.

I snacked on an apple on the way to Trader Joe’s.

apple

I swear I buy groceries other than ice cream and tortilla chips! Here’s today’s haul:

Trader Joe's

  • organic broc (from the Farmer’s Market)
  • organic apples
  • bananas
  • 2 bags prunes
  • 1 bag walnuts
  • Almond butter with sea salt
  • Nuts about raspberries & chocolate trek mix
  • 2 mint chocolate Builder’s protein bars (for nate!)
  • 1 peanut butter lara bar (for me!)
  • white bean hummus
  • maple syrup (for a special project!)

Dinner was tasty, but late (9pm!). I started off with a simple salad: leftover greens with a big blob of hummus and a dab of balsamic vinegar. Then I melted 1 oz Cabot cheddar (made with reduced fat milk) over some Garden of Eatin’ white corn chips. I add some salsa and 1/2 mashed avocado. So good! The only thing I noticed was the the orange variety of Cabot cheese (only kind that Fine Fare sells) doesn’t melt as well as the white variety.

Simple Salad

Healthified nachos

A while later I had Edy’s slow churned ice cream in a sugar cone. I love summer!

ice cream cone

And now I’ll leave you with some MGMT – love this song!

10 Responses

  1. Mmmmm Edy’s!

  2. So I’ve been following your blog for a couple of weeks now and have really been enjoying reading it – but when I saw that you had posted the Electrical Feel video…wow. I am totally sold. I love that song! And I love running and eating and hearing about people who do the same! Keep on blogging!

  3. i have seen MGMT everywhere – i need to find out and listen to this band ASAP!

  4. Ahhh Hermits! They’re the best!!

    I just ran with my IT strap today and I adore it – it helped so much. I hope you see a lot of positive results from your appointment :)

  5. Wow, your session with the doc sounds intense. I hope your hamstrings/IT band feels better soon. Do you know any good stretches for the IT band?

  6. Chocolate shoestrings: check out this article from Runner’s World on IT band stretching: http://www.runnersworld.com/article/0,7120,s6-241-285–11642-0,00.html
    Also, foam rollers are great!

  7. ksgoodeats: glad the IT band strap is helping! try KT tape (the stuff they used during the Beijing olympics) if you have issues with the strap sliding down and getting sweaty. the tape is really good for warm summer running.

  8. Thanks for brightening up my day with some MGMT! Love it! They’ve been featuring large on my running playlist recently!

    Your dinner looks ace…and so jealous you can run in Central Park. Minneapolis is pretty perfect for running but still…

  9. [...] and I had made plans for a lunch-time run in the park, but in light of my treatments at Wednesday’s visit to the sports medicine doc, we decided to up for a walk instead. I walked from my office building to Central Park, walked with [...]

  10. If so, maintaining a good account standing with the bank may serve to your advantage even with a
    black mark against you. The credit card consolidation
    value is not enough for lending institutions to know that the co-signer pledges that he won’t exercise his right to come in second place if legal action is taken. Then the lender will agree to grant the loan. The first way in which you can afford, not only will you get the best loans for buying a car. Condition — As mentioned earlier, the bank will be willing to negotiate.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

