PB & Jelly Ice Cream

I think I’m in love. With (vegan!!) peanut butter and jelly ice cream. Seriously, last night’s treat was life changing. But let’s rewind…

Thursday breakfast was coffee, cherries, Oikos vanilla greek yogurt, and 1/2 cup Kashi Go Lean Crunch. Lots of protein and fiber – very filling!

Breakfast

My morning passed very quickly and before I knew it, it was 12:30pm. I had arranged to meet the broker uptown to check out an apartment during lunch, so I needed to get a move on. I sped out the door of my building, took the train uptown, checked out the apartment, and was back at my desk by 1:40pm. Pheww! I was almost late meeting the broker so I practically sprinted down the street (in work clothes, with my giant bag on my shoulder). It was worth it – the apartment was decent and the price was a steal! Hooray!

I returned to the office excited by my potential new digs and devoured my lunch. I was extra good today and packed leftovers rather than buying something from the cafe. I spread about 1/4 cup white bean hummus on whole wheat flat bread and then added green pepper, zucchini, and feta. I rolled it all up and chowed down.

Wrap

My headache just would not go away, ugh. I’m sure it’s stress/tension related. Lots of changes going on over the next month! Around 4pm I sipped on a small non-fat latte and ate a peanut butter granola bar. Nature Valley recently re-formatted their granola bars so that they no longer contain HFCS (high fructose corn syrup). They’re still not the healthiest things on the planet, but they are made with whole grains. And they taste like a peanut butter girl scout cookie!

starbucks iced latte

Granola bar

Alma and I met with the broker after work and submitted an application. If all goes well, we’ll sign the lease on Monday! I knew I wasn’t going to have time for any cardio today, so I decided to walk the 2 miles or so to the pilates class where Katie and I were planning on taking a class. I snacked on my apple (umm…not very good. early season apples are wayyy tart!) as I checked out the front of Sixth Street Pilates. I nearly had a heart attack when I saw that I had agreed to go to an Intermediate/Advanced mat class. Oh lordie.

Pilates

Pilates

Luckily I survived the class. My abs were feelin’ the burn, but it’s almost beach-time, so I won’t complain!

Afterwards, Katie and I headed across the street to Lula’s Sweet Apothacary. I’ve been hearing about this place for weeks and it did NOT disappoint.

Katie

Lula's

The shop is reminiscent of an old-school soda fountain. In addition to ice cream by the scoop, Lula’s serves sundaes, milkshakes, and soda floats the old-fashioned way. The best part? Everything is vegan!!

Lula's

The counter guy gave us a taste of the “Death by Chocolate” ice cream and casually mentioned that the fudge mixed in to the ice cream was made fresh that morning. Holy yum! I cannot believe this stuff is dairy free. When I saw peanut butter & jelly ice cream, I knew there was no other option for me. I ordered a scoop and was in heaven. It was so creamy and I could taste big pockets of chunky peanut butter and sweet berry jam.

ice cream

I’m not exagerating when I say that this ice cream was probably one of the best 3 ice creams I have ever had. If you’re in the New York area, check Lula’s out! And no, they are not paying me for this ringing endorsement :-)

Ice cream is all well and good, but a girl cannot live on dessert alone. When I got home, I made a little snack (dinner?) plate of green pepper with hummus and a toasted baguette with almond butter and fruit preserves. I just opened up a jar of Sarabeth’s preserves and while the flavor is awesome, the consistency was quite runny. It was like 100 degrees in my apartment, so maybe that’s why? I stuck the jar in the fridge in the hopes that it will firm up. Anyone else have experience with Sarabeth’s jam?

Baguette with almond butter and jam

After checking some emails and getting things ready for work the next day, I promptly sprawled out on the couch. As Nate and I watched a thoroughly unsatisfying episode of Law & Order (the little Haitian boy did not deserve to go to juvie!), there may have been some unpictured Garden of Eatin’ organic tortilla chips. Mmm, salty.

TGIF! What’s your favorite part of your weekend routine? Nate and I have a weekly date night on Fridays and it’s my favorite part of the whole week! It’s a great way to transition into a relaxed, chill state-of-mind :-)

11 Responses

  1. hush. PB&J Ice cream? I think I just died and went to heaven.

  2. Megan’s not lying about that PB&J ice cream. I can attest to the wonderful splendor. I had maple walnut, which never disappoints…Lula’s is seriously the best thing in Manhattan. And I do not consider that an exaggeration. Heh.

    …Plus, it’s the perfect way to soothe the ab burn after Pilates.

  3. I love Pilates! I’ve passed Lula’s before but have never gone in! It’s definitely something I want to check out the next time I’m in the city.

    I don’t really have a weekend routine. My boyfriend and I have had a date night every Wednesday since met four years ago! :-) This weekend I’m going to Boston! Can’t wait!

  4. Good luck on the apartment. I hope that it works out for you.

    Well done on the pilates class. I think that I might go to yoga on Sunday morning this weekend. A nice way to start the morning!

    Have a great weekend.

  5. Date night Fridays sounds so so lovely! My favorite is breakfasts with the boy. I love having time at the weekend to wake up slowly and make a long, big breakfast. So relaxing and good!

    Yay on the apartment! I hope all goes well and you sign!

  6. Oh man that PB&J ice cream sounds heavenly (and I’m sure it’s 100 times better than the Tasti D-Lite version!) I definitely must go to Lula’s ASAP!

  7. I NEED to try that ice cream!! Maybe we could meet there one day?!

  8. Nutrition by Eve – yes! we can definitely go to Lula’s sometime. I can’t stop thinking about the pb & j ice cream :-)

  9. i literally saw the title of your post, ignored the rest of it and scrolled down to the PB+J ice cream asap. mmmmmmm!

    yay for an apartment and the weekend – my fave part of the weekend are slow, leisurely, enjoyable mornings with breakfast, coffee and the newspaper. what can i say, i’m 70 years old at heart :)

    http://thehealthyeverythingtarian.wordpress.com

  10. That’s some wicked sounding ice cream!

  11. [...] forgot to snap a photo of my iced latte, so I “borrowed” this one from Google [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

