A Winning Combination

As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, Wednesday started off with my first run in nearly 2 weeks! After some coffee, I hit the pavement for 20 minutes. I had some tightness, but no pain. Throughout the day I tried to fit in extra stretching and walking to stay loose.

Breakfast was a vanilla Chobani greek yogurt, cherries, and about 1/4 cup of my homemade olive oil granola. Yum!

Breakfast

I had an eye doctor’s appointment at 1pm and found out that my prescription needs to be stronger – perhaps a cause of all those headaches I’ve been getting? After my appointment, I stumbled across this Glamour article on eye health. Even if you don’t wear glasses/contacts, it’s important to get your eyes checked!

I was good today and packed my lunch again! I started off with a cantaloupe + banana fruit salad.

Cantaloupe

Then I moved on to the main event – almond butter and banana on French Meadow Bakery hemp bread. I never get tired of this combo!

pb & b sandwich

I had packed a larabar to have as an afternoon snack, but my office building was hosting an ice cream social in the afternoon. How could I turn down ice cream on one of the hottest days of the year?? I followed the advice I dished out in my Glamour Magazine guest post and enjoyed a scoop of Ben & Jerry’s half-baked frozen yogurt instead of my planned snack.

Ben & Jerry's

After work, it was time for another doctor’s appointment. After reviewing my progress and thoughts about today’s run, the doc said that I didn’t have to come back to see him. I do, however, need to be extra vigilent about not over-doing it with the running, stretch, strengthen, and perhaps get some sports massage. It’s been a very long road to recovery and I don’t want to backslide back into injury. The doc that I’ve been seeing is so wonderful! I never feel rushed and he always takes the time to explain why things are happening. For example, I’ve been having a lot of knee pain. I thought it was mostly IT band related, but the doc pointed out how tight my quads are. He thinks that the tight quads are pulling on the knee cap and causing inflammation. He prescribed stretches and foam rolling for my quads and patellar taping for the short term. He also told me that I had a mild case of Osgood-Schlatter syndrome. I always wondered what that bump was on my right knee cap!

From the Mayo Clinic website:

During activities that involve a lot of running, jumping and bending — such as soccer, basketball, volleyball and ballet — your child’s thigh muscles (quadriceps) pull on the tendon that connects the kneecap to the shinbone.

This repeated stress can cause the tendon to pull away from the shinbone a bit, resulting in the pain and swelling associated with Osgood-Schlatter disease. In some cases, your child’s body may try to close that gap with new bone growth, which can result in a bony lump at that spot.

Look what I came home to:

A freshly made batch of olive oil granola!

Nate's granola

And a clean sink!

Clean sink

Despite confusing Tablespoons and teaspoons (this batch ended up containing 6x the amount of cinnamon, cardamom, and salt called for in the original recipe…) Nate did a great job with the granola. I tasted some when I got home and I give it an A+!

I was starvingggg when I walked through the door. I guess frozen yogurt does not make a very filling afternoon snack. I put together a little appetizer plate to nibble on.

Appetizer

I sandwiched fresh mozzarella, tomato slices, and basil between two thick slices of Whole Foods seed bread and then pressed it on the George Foreman. What a winning combination!

Tomato, Basil, and Mozzarella

I was still hungry after my panini, so I dipped two more slices of seed bread in EVOO.

Bread and EVOO

I finished the day with a small cone of Breyer’s natural ice cream. Froyo AND ice cream twice in the same day?? Why yes, I can’t think of a better way to celebrate my first run in weeks :-)

ice cream

Check out this article: What is the Ideal Body Type?

Question: Ideal body types vary among different countries and cultures. What do you think is the best type of body to have?

9 Responses

  1. That panini looks heavenly because that is my favorite combo EVER! And the fro-yo and ice cream are pretty heavenly too.

    I got the goodies yesterday, and THANK YOU so much!

  2. Don’t you just love when you have a doctor’s recommendation to get a massage?!? :)

  3. I have Osgood-Schlatter as well! As long as I stretch and ice, my knees usually don’t bother me.

  4. I liked your guest post in glamour- lots of simple but great tips!

  5. I LOLed at Nate’s foray into granola making! How cute! =D

  6. JEALOUS: your sandwiches look fantabulous! All this good bread you have is killing me – bread in evoo is the best, is it not?
    And you got to have ice cream twice in one day…I might hate you. Except I like you too much. But seriously envy-making yums!

  7. Your banana/almond butter sandwiches always look so good! This might be a silly question, but what exactly is almond butter??
    firednfabulous.blogspot.com

  8. Your Glamour Guest Post was great and your dinner looks yummy!!

  9. eye health is SUCH a good reminder! one of those things you don’t always think about.

    love the ice cream and froyo in one day, and after reading about that syndrome, i think i might have that! however, my yoga teacher is an alignment therapist, and doing some tweaks, she singlehandedly fixed my bump – you could literally see the blood flowing to the region.

    yay for running!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

