Gus & Gabriel Gastropub

Oof. I was definitely feeling the effects of less than 6 hours of sleep on Thursday morning. I stumbled to the kitchen and was greeted by Frida Kahlo and a steaming cup of coffee. I worked on the blog for a bit, folded last night’s clean laundry, and then made my way to work.

Frida coffee mug

Breakfast was another bowl of overnight oats. I took the photo before I stirred everything together – it looks much more appetizing this way!

  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  • 6 oz Fage 0%
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1/2 cup blueberries
  • 2 Tbs PB2
  • Splash of skim milk before eating

Overnight Oats

Lunch was another attempt to use up groceries I had on hand. I made a sandwich with French Meadow hemp bread (love this!), peanut butter, raspberry jam, and 1/2 banana. On the side I had some baby carrots :-)

PB & J sammie and carrots

I was freezing all afternoon, so I had a cup of green tea and some hot cocoa after lunch. I finally started to lose the goosebumps around 4pm!

Afternoon snackie was a coconut lara bar. This is one of my favorite flavors of lara bar. I also really like peanut butter cookie and key lime pie. Although as soon as I get my hands on a pb&j lara bar – I’m sure that variety will usurp all of the rest!

lara bar

After work, I met up with Alma for a run in Central Park. Despite the ominous weather, the run was fun! I ran for about 40 minutes and am glad to report that my hamstring/knees felt OK. My IT band was barking at me though! After some serious stretching and foam rolling, it was time for din-din.

Nate found a cool, new place on the Upper West Side – Gus & Gabriel’s Gastropub. This restaurant is a comfort food lover’s paradise! Check out the menu offerings – peanut butter-banana milkshakes, meatloaf with mashed potatoes, BBQ pork tator tots, and more. Holy yum!

If you’re in the mood to imbibe – this is your place. The alcohol menu is huge – ranging from highbrow scotch to 40 oz. malt liquor bottles served in a paper bag (no joke). However, I had a lot to do after dinner, so I stuck to water.

We almost missed the restaurant the first time we walked by – it was located in a renovated brownstone. The atmposphere inside was very cool – I felt like I was having dinner in someone’s posh apartment.

Gus & Gabriel Gastropub

For dinner, I chose the pulled pork cuban sandwich. The deliciously seasoned pulled pork came on a toasted brioche bun with melted monterey jack, pepperoncini, pickles, sauerkraut, mustard, coleslaw, and a side of fries/onion rings. This indulgence was definitely worth it! It was probably one of the top 3 sandwiches I have EVER eaten. The fact that I was beyond s-t-a-r-v-i-n-g probably made it taste extra good :-)

Cuban sandwich was amazing!

Cuban sandwich

I had a little mishap with the ketchup – over half the bottle spilled onto my plate. Oops. Luckily I had polished off the sandwich by then :-)

Too much ketchup

With the exception of the onion rings and the coleslaw,  I devoured every last bit of my dish. I was a hungry girl!

Nate enjoyed his BBQ roasted pork steak and the coleslaw, mini corn cob, and mashed potatoes that came with it. He even said “I think this is the best coleslaw that I have ever had”. The chef and owner of the restaurant, Michael Psilakis, is Greek and uses yogurt in the coleslaw dressing. Yum!

Pork and Mashed Potatoes

We met up with some friends at a bar after dinner, but I was too stuffed to take more than a few sips of beer. Around 10:30pm I left Nate and his boys in order to go home and pack for the Healthy Living Summit and next week’s trip to the beach. I finally finished up a little after 1:30am and fell asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow. It’s going to be a crazy couple of days!

Frozen treats for every occasion!

Girl’s Night Out = Diet Saboteur?

Love Blue M&Ms? Read about the 5 Junk Foods that could save your life(woo-hoo!)

9 Responses

  1. MMMM your sandwich does look delish! yumm :)

  2. Ohhh wowzers! That pulled pork sandwich looks to be the shizzle! I love that you often eat stuff like this, i.e. normal stuff. It’s so good to drool over!

    That Frida mug is so rocking by the way…don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned that but yours was one of the first blogs I ever started reading and I loved checking in every morning and seeing Frida’s face!

    I need to try more larabars. End of story. Happy Friday!!

  3. ooO I’ve been wanting to try Gus and Gabriel’s for a while now! It used to be Kefi, which was really good, but this looks even better perhaps. Have fun at the summit!

  4. ahhhh megan…i can’t believe how behind i was on your blog! lots of good stuff – running, that apple cake (num num!) and your dad/bf triathlon! sooo cute! i love that your dad is fit and active!

    obv we eat very similarly, so obv i love all the eats. i want to find the PB+J lara sooo bad too although i think my true love might be the tropical fruit tart. drool.

    so jealous you are going to the summit – have an amazing time and i cannot wait to hear a recap love!

  5. Wow that sandwich looks great!! Aww I wish I were going to HLS. I would have loved to meet you!

  6. I’ve never been to a gastropub, sounds awesome!

  7. i just snagged a PB&J larabar at Whole Foods– if we have them in baton rouge, i’m sure you can find them at yours in NYC!

  8. I’ve been wanting to try Gus’ since it’s in my ‘hood. And now that I’ve seen the food, I’m definitely going! And Kefi someone mentioned-is it good too?? I want to try…
    Are you an UWS-er too?

  9. That pulled pork sandwich looks SO good–I’ll have to try that restaurant!! How did you keep from polishing off the onion rings? That is a skill I need to learn. Do you just decide what you want the most and then only indulge in that one thing??
    firednfabulous.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

