A Big Announcement

Happy Thursday!

There’s something I’ve been thinking about for awhile and I’ve finally decided to announce my decision on the blog. Currently my diet doesn’t contain much meat – I probably only eat it 1-3 times per week. I think that grass-fed, local meat can be a good choice for some, but unfortunately that’s not always available or within my budget. I know how bad factory-farmed meat is for the environment AND my health and I think that’s what I’m getting at most restaurants/grocery stores. So…I’ve decided to go vegetarian for the next month. I hope my 30 day challenge will inspire me to get more creative in the kitchen and be more thoughtful about my food choices. I also want to see how 30 days of no meat affects my health and energy levels – I’m ready for a positive change! I have a slew of yummy veggie recipes up my sleeve and I’m looking forward to my challenge. I’m going to focus on quality whole-food proteins like legumes, beans, nuts, seeds, dairy, and maybe some seafood and soy products. I also know I’ll have to be extra vigilent about my iron intake (I’m slightly iron deficient). Any other advice for me??

Some “food for thought” that influenced my decision -

No Meat Athlete

The Healthy Tipping Point

Food, Inc.

The Omnivore’s Dilemma

Ok, now back tracking to Wednesday…

I woke up to another amazing morning of sunshine and cool temps. After the usual coffee, Alma and I headed to Central Park for a 40 minute run (partly on the dirt trails of the Bridle Path). My hamstring felt twinge-y after about 2 miles, but I stretched and foam-rolled afterwards and am trying to keep on top of the tightness.

Once I got to my desk, breakfast was a chopped up apple (I used a plastic knife to cut the apple…pretty ghetto), a vanilla Oikos greek yogurt, and about 2 servings of Nature’s Path Mesa Sunrise. Yum!

Mesa Sunrise

Lunch was enjoyed outside in the sunshine – a very colorful cafeteria salad!

Salad

  • romaine, carrots, red onion, mushroom
  • feta and 2 Tbs balsamic vinaigrette
  • tasting of coleslaw
  • 4 (!!) different type of beans – pinto, black, chickpea, and kidney

The rest of the afternoon passed fairly quickly and I snacked on some Mesa Sunrise corn flakes straight out of the box.

Mesa Sunrise

After a long walk home (it’s about 3.5 miles from the office to my apartment) and some more unpacking, it was time for dinner!

I wasn’t in the mood to cook, so I prepared one of my favorite, go-to meals – toasted Ezekiel sprouted grain bread with peanut butter, strawberry jam, and sliced banana. I think that I could eat this every single day without getting bored!

PB & J

 

Dessert was four (um, yes, stress = carb cravings) peanut butter and jelly cookies from my sweet co-worker.

cookies

Obviously I love peanut butter and jelly. Maybe too much.

Beginner runner? Read these tips on how to maximize your run!

Build the perfect salad.

24 Responses

  1. I am so proud of you! :) It’s an amazing decision and I know you will love it!

    Hugs to animals :)

  2. PB+J never lets you down. enjoy your 30-day challenge! i think you will find it not so hard and quite enjoyable to explore veggie cuisine. i primarily eat veg (meat 1-3 times a month) and love it!

  3. Congrats on your decision. I am excited to hear if you felt any better physically/emotionally. Yes that pb sandwich looks heavenly.

  4. That’s so exciting, congratulations. It’s worked for me for 13 years, so if you have any questions, feel free to email me. And enjoy the deliciousness of vegetarian cuisine! Cook some fun new stuff.

  5. Thats so exciting, congrats girl! I admire your decision so much! :)

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  6. Congrats and good luck! I couldn’t go vegetarian for more than a day or two (I tried), even though lately I`ve been like you, eating meat maybe 1-3 times a week (because of the cost). Even now, if I eat any sort of meat, it’s seafood. Everything else sort of makes my stomach queesy now.

  7. Good for you! I made (sort of) a similar decision after seeing Food, Inc. Rather than cut out all meat, I’m cutting way back and when I do eat meat, it will be of the free-range, grass-fed persuasion. So far, I’ve definitely stuck to it, although I’ve found that it’s way too convenient for me to find meat-less food OUT than to cook it myself. Bad. I’m really looking forward to reading about all of your different cooking/eating experiences!

    http://lifediscombobulated.blogspot.com/2009/08/food-i-eat.html

  8. PB&J cookies?! They look delicious. I’m really excited to see how 30 days of no meat goes for you!

  9. I ran on the bridle path too this morning! Maybe we ran past each other haha. I love that it feels so much better on the feet than the hard concrete.

  10. Congrats on your 30 day meat-less challenge! I’ve also noticed my feelings change about meat products, look forward to reading about your progress!

  11. I’m curious to see how going vegetarian affects you. I went veg about a year ago, and never looked back (well, pescatarian). Good luck on your challenge!

  12. I’ve been thinking about going meat free for a while too because I just don’t really eat it or set out to really want it! I crave more veggies and fruits, great idea for a 30 day challenge!

  13. i’ve been a vegetarian for over a year now and I love it. It’s difficult to cook for myself and three meat eaters but we’ve managed. It’s great because I’m able to show the kids other healthy ways of getting protein! Good luck.

  14. oooh exciting meatless challenge! I’ll be interested to see how you find it. My only thought it, “but megan loves her beer and burgers!” – luckily there are some AMAZING bean burgers/veggie burgers out there :)

    If it was acceptable to do so I would probably survive easily on cereal and banana/AB on toast. So easy yummy and fast!

  15. I thought about going vegetarian for a month a while ago but it just didn’t happen! Maybe you’ll inspire me!

  16. Great decision. I have been vegetarian for a year now. It’s a decision I don’t regret at all. I’m healthier than I have ever been before. It has drastically improved my overall health. I recently started running and I could tell immediately that my diet along had made a difference, I was almost immediately up to running 3 miles or more at a time. Now I am at 7 mile runs and working towards my first 1/2 Marathon!

    Godspeed on your journey. I hope it goes well for you. My guess is that if you last 30 days you will keep it going!

  17. Oh, p.s. If you are looking for good alternatives to soy milk, or just want some variety try almond and hemp seed milks. Vanilla Hemp Seed Milk is AWESOME!

  18. I can’t wait to hear how your 30-day veg challenge goes! I’ve been toying with the idea of going vegetarian myself. I only eat poultry and fish right now; no red meat. I’m excited to see what recipes you have!

  19. Congrats! I hope this change is for the better for yourself and you end up feeling great and making the right decision. It’s definitely not the lifestyle for me but I hope it’s right for you

  20. Great decision and good luck! I have been teetering on the edge about whether to do something similar. You may want to look to Mark Bittman (NY Times foodie) for more inspiration. He’s an NYC runner (like us) and he employs a “vegan til dinner” diet, where he eats vegan meals throughout the day and is a bit more flexible at dinner. He offers many ideas on breakfast and lunch ideas that are inventive, tasty, and high in protein. You can also check out a video segment he did with Deena Kastor – they went for a run in his ‘hood and back to his place to cook together.
    Congrats and good luck!

  21. Congrats on your decision to try vegetarianism! I have not eaten meat in 20 years (in and around there). I’m also a runner and practice heat yoga (great Bikram class this morning!). I never liked meat, not since I can remember. So when I was old enough I annouced to my parents I wouldn’t be eating meat. And they looked at me like I was nuts! Back then vegetarianism was not mainstream! So all these years later here I am still a veg. (though not a vegan). Good luck with your journey!

  22. [...] congratulations to Megan, check out her big announcement about it.  And if YOU find yourself tempted, do it!  And make me really happy by letting me [...]

  23. What a coincidence– I started a 30-day no-meat challenge on September 1!

    Just found your blog, and I’m a fan :)

  24. [...] go along with Megan’s Meat-Free Month, I thought I’d cook up portabello mushroom burgers to pair with my favorite squash soup [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

