Flax Plus Pumpkin Granola

Good morning and happy Thursday! Two more days until the weekend….

Wednesday started off pretty well with the usual coffee and 1/2 a cool mint chocoalte clif bar. After a few minutes for digestion, Alma and I headed out for an easy morning run in Central Park. I ended up running 7 miles in about 1 hour and 8 minutes. My right hamstring started bugging me about 40 minutes in, but I stretched it well and now (24 hours later) it feels good.

Breakfast was a cup of plain, non fat yogurt with some PB2 , a sliced banana, and generous serving of  flax plus pumpkin granola mixed in.

I took a little walk around 1pm to stretch my legs and then settled down for some lunch. I timed my break perfectly – the sun peeked out of the clouds just as I started eating my salad. Yay!

  • mixed greens, onions, mushrooms, carrots
  • whole grain croutons, balsamic vinaigrette, feta, cranberries
  • Chickpeas and edamame

Afternoon snack – Garden Salsa Sunchips. I didn’t think I would like this flavor, but surprisingly I did! The color and flavor sort of reminded me of doritios…

My plan to cut back on afternoon caffeine: FAIL

I was feeling headache-y and blah around 4pm and made myself a yummy cappuccino with the new office coffee/espresso machine. Sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar. Yum!

Cappuccino

I left the office at 5:30pm and was home by 6pm (love my new, shorter commute!). I immediately gathered up my dirty laundry and got down to business. I had SO much laundry! Now it’s all clean and mostly folded. I had planned on ironing some work clothes, but the season premiere of Glee took precidence.

Mid-laundry snack: apple slices with peanut butter

Lame-ish dinner (I need to cook something real soon): 2 slice of Ezekiel sprouted wheat topped with laughing cow cheese wedge, jalapeno hummus, and a black bean veggie burger. This was actually really delicious and ready in about 3 minutes! Also I gave those Kashi crackers another chance.  Not as good as triscuits, just not as good.

After Glee, I cuddled up under the blankets in my bedroom and watched another episode of Gossip Girl. Almost caught up on season 2! I also had the remainder of my chocolate-peanut butter cake. The portion was pretty small, but it made the perfect bedtime snack.

1/2 of this:

chocolate cake

Those peanut butter cups and hershey kiss on top were ahhh-mazing! :-)

I’m on day 10 of the vegetarian challenge and so far it’s been a breeze. My appetite has been bigger than usual lately (I’m running more), but I’m feeling good and haven’t had any meat cravings. Also, the second week of September is Vegetarian Awareness Week. How fitting!

Also, in the news: Bento boxes rise in popularity.

Finally, did you watch the President’s speech on healthcare last night?

Michael Pollan on the disconnect between healthcare reform and agrobusiness subsidies:

But so far, food system reform has not figured in the national conversation about health care reform. And so the government is poised to go on encouraging America’s fast-food diet with its farm policies even as it takes on added responsibilities for covering the medical costs of that diet. To put it more bluntly, the government is putting itself in the uncomfortable position of subsidizing both the costs of treating Type 2 diabetes and the consumption of high-fructose corn syrup.

Question: What are your thoughts on regulation in the food industry? Should french fries and soda be banned from schools? Should food made with trans fats and high fructose corn syrup come with warning labels? Or should Americans be allowed to make their own choices?

10 Responses

  1. Aaah I watched Glee too!! Totally guilty pleasure :)

  2. I watched Glee, too! I liked the pilot more than last night’s episode but I’m definitely going to stick around for a few more to see how the season shapes up.

    That slice of pie looks AMAZING!

  3. I really enjoyed the speech last night, and agree that something needs to be done asap about health care issues in our country. I ALSO agree that a good portion of what needs to be done should be preventative. I’m a little conflicted, though, and will have to think long and hard about labels, school lunches, etc. On one hand, I believe that Americans SHOULD be allowed to make their own choices. On the other, I think it’s nearly criminal the way that the food industry markets food and includes ingredients that can lead to addiction. One thing I know for sure: EDUCATION is essential to changing Americans’ eating habits!!!

    I’m loving your vegetarian posts this month! I haven’t read “The Omnivore’s Dilemma” yet, but did see “Food, Inc.” and have made a decision to seriously change my eating habits since!

    http://lifediscombobulated.blogspot.com/2009/08/food-i-eat.html

    It’s been fun, although, I’m struggling with the cooking side of it — coming up with new, tasty dishes that don’t include meat, but still include protein… I’m really looking forward to seeing what you come up with!

    Katie

  4. i need to watch Glee – i saw the premier and loved it! how is that clif bar? for some reason, the fact it has mint in it scares me away, even though i like mint. go figure :)

    yay for a productive night…have a good day dear!

    i watched Obama’s speech this morning – twas’ interesting :)

  5. Food with high fructose corn syrup, trans fat, and anything artificial I think need to say so. Yes people need to and can make their own choices but these should be informed choices and all too often they’re rushed and people wouldn’t eat what they do if they knew what’s in that food

  6. Way to go on the veggie plan! i’m so proud. you’ve def inspired me so much.

    Those salsa sun chips look amazing those are actually my favorite flavor! :)

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  7. That’s so great to hear that the vegetarian diet is working for you. And that you haven’t had cravings. Have you noticed any difference in your energy level yet?

    Even after “all” this time (6 months), I haven’t really had any meat cravings. At least not where I think “I really want some meat.” It’s more like “Aww, I can’t have buffalo wings when I watch football any more.” Situational, ritual sort of things. But I definitely don’t miss being tired all the time!

  8. LOVED Glee!

    Awesome job on the run…and, that cake…OMG! I want a bite!

  9. Haha, I just posted about Veg. Awareness Week too! And coincidentally Alex (remember my bf who helped Alma move in?) has just decided to go veg! Cool, no? I think it’s a great experiment for him.

    And several people have sent me that link to the bento article. All my breakfasts and lunches come to work with me in their appropriate boxes. :) Nerd? Yes. I’m fine with that.

  10. I didn’t know about the VA Week – thanks for the info! Glad you are doing well so far! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

