Running in the Dark

For the past few weeks, I’ve been running in the morning. I feel like exercising before work allows me to have more flexibility later on in the day (impromptu happy hour, anyone?) and my motivation is highest as soon as I wake up. However, on Thursday, I decided to postpone my run until the evening.

I prepared by fueling up with a baggie of pretzels around 5pm (it was warm outside, needed that extra salt!).

Pretzels

I hopped on the subway after work and was back at my apartment by 6pm. At this point my motivation was pretty low. It had been a long day, I was tired, I didn’t want to run, blah, blah, blah. But I knew I’d probably feel better once I got on the roads, so I changed into my running shoes and off I went!

I ran to the Northern entrance of Central Park and started down the West side. I was a little stiff for the first few miles, but by the time I met up with Ani and her brother at mile 2.5 I was feeling better. I ended up running about 8.5 miles in 1 hour and 20 minutes and still felt like I had a lot of energy left. My right upper hamstring/butt was giving me a bit of trouble whenever I tried to drop the pace, but I’m currently massaging it out with a tennis ball, so hopefully that will help.

I forgot how enjoyable a night run can be!  I was able to do my run without the time crunch that mornings usually bring and running in the dark (don’t worry, I stuck to well-lit paths!) was an interesting change.

After stretching, foam rolling, and some ab work it was time for dinner:

I toasted up a slice of whole wheat bread and topped it with a falafel sunshine burger, sprouts, mozzarella cheese, and chipotle hummus. Arugula, dried cherries, and walnuts drizzled with balsamic vinegar rounded out the meal. Yum!

Sunshine burger

Falafel burger and veggies

After a shower and some Gossip Girl (FINALLY caught up to season 3), I ended the night with a cup of tea and a leftover red velvet cupcake from Crumbs. Cupcakes + Gossip Girl = my favorite guilty pleasures :-)

Red velvet cupcake

We all know I have a HUGE sweet tooth, so I need to do everything I can to prevent cavities. A few weeks ago Waterpik asked if they could send me an sonic toothbrush to try out. I’ll admit it – my dental care can be a bit lacking at times. I try to convince myself that Orbit gum is just as good as a brushing. Um, no. It’s not. So this morning I plugged in the Waterpik and gave it a whirl! The toothbrush stays on for 2 minutes (the recommended teeth-brushing time), so I really had to focus on cleaning every nook and cranny. The toothbrush also buzzes at 30 second intervals to remind you to switch quadrants. Loved that! After my thorough brushing, my teeth and gums felt very clean. Recent studies have shown correlations between mouth health and heart disease risk, so I think oral hygiene is something we all need to pay attention to. Thanks Waterpik!

Waterpik

Question: What’s your favorite part of the day? I think I’m a morning girl!

TGIF  Links:

Stay in shape naturally – no gym required.

Headache? Stomachache? Running injury? Sometimes time is the best medicine.

Eat right for the rest of your life.

Check out this new Dessert Hummus – the maple walnut sounds like a great waffle or toast topper!

13 Responses

  1. Um… I might need to try this dessert hummus. It looks AMAZING! I wish I could get just one tub of it to try, rather than ordering 6, though…

  2. I also feel the same way about running after work (although I don’t run as much as you do…yet :) ). I come home from class and I’m tired but once I get out of the door in those running shoes, I feel awesome!

  3. I am not at all a morning person! I can’t motivate myself to do anything when I first wake up!

  4. I adore Crumbs, I dream about them, no joke!
    I’ve tried the Caramel Apple dessert hummus so far, and it’s fantastic! I am waiting to finish that one before I open another but, so far, so good!

  5. Love your blog Megan! I’m running my first 5km race this weekend and your website has been a huge source of inspiration! I’m all about the food and fitness talk!

  6. I’m completely a morning person. it’s also when I run, and I think I’ve done about 90% of all the productivity I’ll do in a day before 1pm haha

  7. The dessert hummus rules!! Just tried some at the Big E….

  8. morning person for sure but i can be a night person too if i want!

    A dessert hummus sounds intriguing, i wonder what other combos we could think of?

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  9. ohhhh depends on the day – sometimes i am all about the morning, but then sometimes there is something fun about staying up late :)

    mmmm sunshine falafel burgers! my fave flava!

    have a good weekend!

  10. I’m definitely not a morning person…I love doing all my runs at night!

  11. I am definitely a morning person. I try to wake up as many days a week as I can and work out before work. Those 5 am wake ups can be tough if I don’t go to bed early though!

  12. I wanted to thank you for posting a link to my blog on twitter. So many people came and joined in on the discussion and I hope some people will think about cutting back. It is so fun to have interaction with many people and hear a lot of different opinions, so thanks for helping!!!

  13. My motivation to run after work is pretty much non-existant! I have got into running in the mornings recently although that is now an equally dark endeavor! I find I am most motivated when I very first wake up though and I also like being able to come straight home and have the whole evening for whatever.

    I am becoming a morning person which is weird because I NEVER used to be. I could easily sleep in til 1.00pm on weekends and always had more energy at night but gradually as I get older (groan) I find myself waking earlier and earlier and needing to hit the hay earlier too…I guess you just have to work with what nature tells you to do!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

