All Warmed Up

A big Thank You to everyone who stopped by our house-warming party on Saturday night – it was a success!

My legs were feeling a little sore post-run, so I decided it would be a good time to make use of my compression socks. I wore them all afternoon as I cleaned and prepped for the party. Extremely attractive, yes?

compression socks

Mid-afternoon break: apple & peanut butter

apple & peanut butter

Next on the agenda: vegan molasses pumpkin cookies inspired by the lovely Holly!

pumpkin molasses cookies

Megan’s Slightly Modified Version

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 cups whole wheat flour, .5 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tbsp. cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp. ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/4 cup wheat germ
  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar, reserving 1/4 cup
  • 2 tbsp water

Directions:

  • Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees, lightly grease a large cookie sheet
  • Sift together dry ingredients (flour through wheat germ), set aside
  • In a medium bowl, whisk together pumpkin, molasses, canola oil, and sugar
  • Mix wet mixture into dry ingredients, add 2 Tbs water near the end to help dough come together
  • In a small bowl, mix together 1/4 cup sugar and a dash each of ginger, cinnamon, and nutmeg
  • Roll Tbs of dough into a ball (use your hands) and then roll lightly in the sugar mixture
  • Place dough ball on cookie sheet and flatten slightly using tines of fork
  • Bake for 10-12 minutes, cool for 1 minute on baking sheet, and then finish cooling on a wire rack
  • EAT! (preferably along with pumpkin ale)

Most of our party snacks were catered by my close friend, Trader Joe, but I did prepare another bit of home-made goodness: Spanish Spiced Almonds inspired by one of my favorite bloggers – Angharad, the lady behind Eating for England!

My version ended up being a little different (I increased the yield 3 fold and used chili powder instead of thyme), but I think they were still a hit! The almonds did get a bit too brown in the oven, so the following recipe is adjusted accordingly.

Megan’s Version of Spiced Almonds

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups of raw almonds
  • 2 egg whites
  • 2 Tbs water
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp smoked paprika
  • 2 tsp chili powder (use more if you like it extra spicy!)

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 275 degrees, spray large baking sheet with oil
  • Mix the brown sugar, spices, and salt in a large bowl
  • In a medium bowl, beat the egg white and water until foamy
  • Add almonds to egg mixture and coat thoroughly, strain almonds through a sieve to remove  excess egg white
  • Add almonds to bowl of spices, coat evenly
  • Spread almonds evenly on cookie sheet and bake at 275 degrees for 15 minutes
  • Reduce oven temp to 200 degrees, stir, and bake for another 15 minutes
  • Allow to cool and then serve! Leftovers can be stored in an air tight container for a few days.

Spicy Almonds

Party eats!

House warming party food

I started off the night with a Smuttynose Pumpkin Ale. Hooray for Autumn!

Pumpkin Ale

And a plate of party food (refilled this about 3-4 times throughout the night). Baby carrots, olives, crackers, brie, and iberico cheese.  The night involved  A LOT of brie, love that cheese so much :-)

party food

Agnes & Bill

Agnes & Bill

Megan & Alma

Megan and Alma

Darien & Megan

Darien & Megan

Alma & Alex

Alma and Alex

Megan & Diana

Megan & Diana

Kristen & Alma

Kristen & Alma

CPTC teammates!

CPTC

Mini-NESCAC reunion

NESCAC

And a few more of these were consumed throughout the evening….

wine

The night was fun –  I think I finally got to bed around 2am which is much laterrrr than this Grandma usually hits the sheets!

The next morning I was feeling umm…a little less than stellar. But it’s nothing a lot of water and some sunshine couldn’t help!

I walked to Dunkin’ Donuts and then H&H bagels and had a little impromptu pic-nic in Central Park: skim latte, OJ, and a whole wheat bagel

Breakfast in the Park

The weather was awesome yesterday – sunny and 70 degrees – so I ended up walking for quite awhile after breakfast. Before I knew it, I had to hustle home or else I wouldn’t make it to yoga on time.

I dashed back to my apartment and a had a little pre-yoga snack: banana and peanut butter

Banana & PB

And then I met Agnes & Katie for what is becoming a Sunday tradition: 2pm power yoga at Yoga to the People in the East Village. I was a little worried about doing the lunge sequences (my legs are still feelin’ tired), but I took it easy and felt like tons better after class. Relaxed and all stretched out!

As I was walking through Union Square, I happened upon the Pilates for Pink festival and scored this free bag of cocoa roasted almonds. They were the perfect mini-snack!

cocoa roasted almonds

After a shower at my gym, I headed uptown for an early dinner. I met my friends Joe and Chrissy at the Chelsea Grill (which is actually in Hell’s Kitchen). I’ve been here before and the menu has a pretty reliable vegetarian selection.

Chelsea Grill

After seeing photos of Jesse’s delicious grilled portabella burgers last week, I knew I had to have one for myself!

I ordered the grilled balsamic-marinated mushroom cap topped with fresh mozzarella, tomato, onion, and lettuce. I also ate every single one of my waffle fries – ahh, I love french fries! I saved room for the fries by skipping most of the hamburger bun. I’m not crazy about white bread products and I’d rather save room for crispy, crunchy waffle-y potatoes. Mmm…

Portobella Burger

And then when I returned home, I made myself a cup of tea and finished off what was left of this monster:

Levain Bakery

Are you still with me? Before I go, I want to give a BIG congratulations to Holly who just finished her FIRST marathon and Matt who just qualified for Boston by running a crazy-fast sub-3:10 marathon. Yahoo!

In the News:

Calling All New Yorkers: 10 FREE Ways to have healthy fun this October

Have you read about the new contraption that allows you to grow your own meat? I, for one, am really creeped out by this…

Has anyone tried the new Starbucks VIA? I’m interested in knowing whether it’s any good.

Question: What was the best part of your weekend? What are you most looking forward to this week?

15 Responses

  1. megan you are the sweetest! thank you so much for your encouragement and support – albeit a bit sore today, i am so happy and proud of my first marathon. there could definitely be a second in my future…key word being: future :)

    yay for those cookies too! how easy and fabulous? i only wish i had a pumpkin ale to wash it down with too!

    congrats on your race again, a successful housewarming party and an all-around fabulous weekend for both of us. LOVE YOU!

  2. That meat-making thing is incredibly creepy. Ick ick ick!

    I did however, like this comment left by one of the article’s readers:
    “There is a Tree that grows money too….its legal in California”

    Ha! :)

  3. Also, I haven’t tried Starbucks VIA yet, but a lot of Starbucks are doing blind taste tests to see if you can tell the difference between the regular and VIA. It would be an easy way to see what you think of it without paying anything! Also, if you do the taste test, I think you get a free cup of coffee. :)

  4. Aren’t those cookies da bomb? I loved them, too. And I just took the Via taste test and I thought it was better than Pike’s

  5. What brand are your compression socks? Tried the Starbuck’s VIA today and actually liked it better than what they had brewed! Of course, anything is better than that dang Pike Place!

  6. So glad you liked the spiced almonds!! They are quite addictive. I am a monster for brie. It is my downfall at parties…looks like you guys had an ace house warming!
    Those compression socks look interesting. I need to google what they actually do.
    I am also a fries-fiend. Waffle fries are amazing! You just can’t beat seasoned, crispy fries!

  7. What a wonderful spread of food for that party! sounds so lovely! I love that you had an impromptu picnic in the park! i think thats so soothing! :)

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  8. Ahh, it looked like the party was a hit–I’m so sad I wasn’t able to make it–definitely next time!!

    http://www.firednfabulous.blogspot.com/

  9. Wow, great eats! And your party looks like fun as well! I’m a big fan of brie + apricot preserves – totally to die for!

  10. the best part of my weekend was the beautiful day on sunday! I am also a fan of food catered by trader joe’s ! :)

  11. Hope recovery is going ok! Just posted a couple shots of my own from Saturday night. Wishing I had one of those cookies right about now!

  12. […] And a side salad with: spinach, cranberries, blue cheese crumbles, and spiced almonds. […]

  13. […] I sat down to dinner, it was almost 9:30pm! It’s a good thing I snacked on a luna bar and leftover spiced almonds earlier in the evening. Mmm, this fiber-packed dinner is best served with a big dollop of […]

  14. […] my evening was pretty low key. Alma and I opened a bottle of red wine that we had leftover from our housewarming party and I enjoyed some dark chocolates along with a few small pours of vino. […]

  15. […] And a side salad with: spinach, cranberries, blue cheese crumbles, and spiced almonds. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

