Tempo on the Treadmill

Wednesday started off with a cup of coffee (again half regular, half decaf) and a banana. I was feeling energetic, so I bounded out the door for an easy 3-mile run. The weather outside was beautiful, yay for wearing just a t-shirt and shorts!

Quick breakfast

Breakfast at my desk was a pomegranate chobani greek yogurt and 2 servings (at least!) of Kashi honey sunshine. This was the first time I’d tried the pomegranate flavor and I really liked it – you could actually see and taste the pomegranate seeds. No fake flavors here.

Honey Sunshine and Chobani

Mid morning snack was a (decaf) cappuccino and an adora chocolate calcium supplement.

Cappuccino

In my rush to get out the door this morning, I forgot to bring leftover chili for lunch. Doh! So I had to buy a salad from the cafeteria. I wasn’t too upset :-)

salad

  • romaine lettuce, mushrooms, sliced red onion
  • honey roasted sweet potatoes
  • dried cranberries, sunflower seeds, feta cheese
  • bit of wild rice salad
  • Tbs balsamic vinaigrette and some croutons

And for dessert – something new by JELL-O. My mom gave me a few of these 60 calorie caramel mousse cups and I was a bit skeptical, but they’re actually pretty good.

Mousse

Around 4pm I had a balance bar to prepare for my post-work gym visit. The mint cookie flavor tastes kind of like a thin mint!

Balance Bar

I stayed a little late at the office and then headed to the gym. My legs have been feeling strong, so I decided to do a sort of tempo run.

  • Miles 1 9:20 pace (warm-up)
  • Mile 2 9:20 pace (warm-up)
  • Mile 3 – 8:20 pace
  • Mile 4 – 7:55 pace
  • Mile 5 – 7:15 pace
  • Mile 6 – 9:15 pace (cool-down)
  • Mile 7 – 9:15 pace (cool-down)

Total: 7 miles in 1 hour, 54 seconds

I felt strong throughout – no problems from the hamstring or IT band (although my knee was feeling a little funky on the walk to the gym).

By the time I got home, I was HUNGRY. I re-heated a bowl of vegetarian chili and topped it with some mozzarella cheese.

Octoberfest chili

And then I warmed up a multi-bran vitatop and slathered it with pumpkin butter. Yum!

vitatop with pumpkin butter

My apartment is like 1,000 degrees so I drank a ton of water last night. Around 10pm, I curled up with my current book (just finished The Post Birthday World) and snacked on some milk and 2 Newman’s ginger cookies. I had already drunk most of the milk by the time I snapped this photo :-)

milk and cookies

Check out this great article on how-to dress for fall running.

Are trans fats hiding in your Halloween candy? Eek! Now, that’s something scary…

Question: What’s your favorite afternoon snack? I’m always looking for something new and exciting!

13 Responses

  1. The afternoon’s the time I like best for ice cream, because then I have a while to work off the sugar

  2. Love PB & crackers, especially kashi crackers. And Babybel cheese!

  3. Mixing it up w/ tempos on the treadmill is great!! You get a better workout AND you’re less bored!

  4. ahhh the Frida mug! Love!
    Hurrah that your legs are feeling so strong! That’s such an awesome feeling. Whoop whoop.
    Cookies and milk – is there a better 10pm snack? (Answer: no. Although I have been enjoying slices of apple pie with plain yogurt lately since we have a whole one in the fridge. YUM)

    I like to have yogurt mid to late afternoon since it keeps me going so long. Normally I’ll put some fruit in there or otherwise some muesli or a larabar – something with some chew!

  5. Angharad-

    I love apple pie (or apple crisp!) with plain yogurt. Such a delightful combination :-)

  6. ahhhh a morning and afternoon workout? please tell me your motivation because i have NOT been feeling it lately!

  7. Holly! The secret, my dear, was being injured for 9 months. Now that I’m able to run without pain, I can’t get enough! After so many months of frustration, it finally feels like the injury is behind me. I’m sure the excitement will wane a bit though…If you come to NYC, I will be your workout buddy! :-)

  8. I actually love having a waffle with peanut butter in the afternoon. Weird, I know..but it’s a favorite of mine! :)

  9. OMG are those Ginger-O’s not INSANELY good?! You just gave me flashbacks of plowing through like 10 at a time, haha. All with milk for dunking of course! This makes me want them again and yet I’m afraid of myself around oreo-type snacks!

  10. I’m a huge fan of Kashi Go Lean! Crunchy bars. Chocolate Caramel and Peanut are my favorite flavors. They’re surprisingly minimal in calories for their size, high in protein and fiber, and absolute delicious. I find it’s not often one can compliment the taste of a protein bar, but with these you can.

    Congrats on the running injury improvement! Nothing is as disheartening as being sidelined or limited due to running injuries. I took your advice regarding my calf strain and am running again with no discomfort. Thanks again for that, three cheers for recovery all around!

  11. For me, it’s definitely a rice cake with peanut butter and a little honey. Peanut butter is a great snack food because it fills me up pretty quickly and doesn’t ruin my appetite for dinner.

    More than anything, I’m pumped to try these Ginger-O’s– I didn’t know such a thing existed. And, based on my recent post about ginger, you know that I’m thinking about it a lot.

    I’m trying to keep you happy by posting the recipe for 5-spice vegan chocolate cake on my blog. If you want a copy of the book, send me your address and I’ll send you a whole bunch of cookbooks.

  12. I didn’t get a chance to try the ginger o’s but i tried the other flavors and they were amazing, so i bet these didn’t disappoint either!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  13. i didnt know the cereal was also fibrelicious as well! thats pretty cool :P
    mmm i really need to get me some newman’s cookies. they remind me of snackwells which i used to always get in my lunch bag growing up! yums <3

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

