Kale, Carrots, and Sesame Tofu

Healthy Lunches save $$

I decided to take a break from buying lunch at the office cafeteria and instead prepare a week of healthy lunches. Over the weekend, I cleaned and de-stemmed a HUGE bunch of kale – only 79 cents at C-Town grocery store :-) I used a TB of canola oil and a large skillet to stirfry the kale until tender. Towards the end I added some low-sodium soy sauce. For the tofu, I pressed out some water and then cut the 12 oz block into 8 slices. I marinated the tofu in a mixture of 1/2 Tb canola oil, 1 Tb maple syrup, and 2 tsp soy sauce (~30 minutes). After pre-heating the oven to 350 degrees, I dredged the tofu slices in a shallow bowl of sesame seeds and placed them on a greased baking sheet. I cooked the tofu for about 25 minutes – until slightly brown and crispy along the edges. Don’t forget to flip once during baking! I added some roasted carrots to my healthy mix and divided everything into tupperware.

One Response

Leave a Reply

