Cauliflower Macaroni & Cheese

Cauliflower mac n' cheese and roasted carrots

I used Bon Appetit’s Cheesemongers Mac and Cheese as a template for this recipe, but made a few key alterations:

I cut the recipe in half so that it made 4 portions instead of 8, I used 2% milk instead of whole, and I used equal amounts of Gruyere and Cabot 50% reduced fat cheddar (about 9 oz total) and omitted the Brie. Most notably, I added some lightly cooked cauliflower florets to the pasta before topping it with the cheese sauce. The finished recipe was great! I forgot to take a photo of the entire pan, but the above plate shows my next-day leftovers with some roasted carrots. Yum!

 

The carrot side dish was really easy to make. The oven roasting really brings out the sweetness! Preheat oven to 400 degrees, wash 3 large carrots (don’t peel!), cut the carrots in half length-wise and then cut into 1-2 ” pieces. Toss with 1 tsp olive oil and salt and place on a baking sheet (sprayed with oil or PAM). Roast for about 25-30 minutes until tender. You could get even more creative and top the carrots with maple syrup, honey, herbs, etc.

3 Responses

  1. […] whole wheat mac and cheese with steamed veggies […]

  2. […] were VERY whole wheat-y and healthy tasting – even for me! I think I might stick to making my own macaroni and cheese recipe from now […]

Leave a Reply

