Dinner for 2 (and some reviews!)

On Friday night, I made salad Nicoise with seared sea scallops for Nate and myself. The recipe was fairly simple: romaine lettuce, chopped tomato, kalamata olives, blanched green beans, boiled red potatoes, and sea scallops. I topped our salads with cracked black pepper, sea salt, and a vinaigrette made of 1/4 c olive oil, 3 Tb balsamic vinegar, and a tsp of dijon mustard. Super healthy and flavorful! For dessert, I used a Cooking Light recipe for Tiramisu. I substituted a splash of rum for the Kahlua and used a cup of fresh, black coffee in place of the espresso mixture. I was a little skeptical of using fat free cream cheese in the recipe, but I think it worked really well with the other ingredients. The dish tasted rich and creamy, yet not too heavy. It definitely passed my taste test – I think I ate 1/3 of the pan myself, hehe. Salad NicoiseTiramisuDouble-Fiber bread and Fitness & FruitsNow, on to some product reviews: Fine Fare was having a sale on Arnold Double Fiber Whole Wheat bread – for only $1.99. At this price I definitely had to stock up! This bread is great Each slice has 90 calories, 5 grams of fiber, 4 grams of protein, and NO high fructose corn syrup. The slices are big – great for making peanut butter & banana sandwiches – my favorite! That box on the right is Nestle’s Fitness & Fruits! I used to eat this everyday when I lived in Italy. For the first month or so that I lived with my host parents, my host mom gave us corn flakes for breakfast (blech). Finally, I went to the grocery store, found a box of cereal that looked yummy, and wrote my host mom a note asking if she would buy Fitness & Fruits from now on. The cereal is made of lightly sweetened wheat/corn flakes with dried fruit and coconut. Nothing too fancy, but YOU CAN’T GET IT IN THE U.S.!! So obviously I had to buy some in Mexico City and stow it away in my carry-on :-)

Leave a Reply

