The Runner’s Commute

About once a week, I run the approximately 10 miles from my apartment in northern Manhattan to my office building in midtown. The way I see it – taking the subway and then walking to the office takes nearly an hour. When I run to the office, it only takes about 25 minutes longer than that. It’s really a win-win situation – I can bypass the morning subway stress, get in a good, long mid-week run, and minimize my carbon footprint while I’m at it.

Here’s how I do it:

The day before: Bring clothes, shoes, snacks, etc.  and lock in desk drawer

The morning of:

  • 6:15am – alarm goes off, make coffee
  • 6:30am – stretch, check email, get dressed
  • 7:15am – leave my apartment (I stash my work ID, metrocard,  money, and my keys in the pockets of my running jacket/tights)
  • 8:50am – arrive at my office, retrieve bag of work clothes from desk, and head to the gym
  • 9:00am – shower and change at my gym (only 2 blocks from office!)
  • 9:30am – arrive at my desk, ready to start the day!

Here’s a screenshot map of the route I run (~10 miles):

Running Map

In other news, the New York Times has been having some great economy related food articles lately. Check these out:

When Economy Sours, a Tootsie Roll Can Still Soothe the Soul

Whoopie! Cookie, Cake, or Pie, It’s Having its Moment

Tailoring to the Times, Food Magazine Feature Cheap Recipes

2 Responses

  1. What a great idea! I wish I was able to run to work once in a while.

  2. […] The Runner’s Commute […]

Leave a Reply

