1/2 Marathon Grand Prix & Weeknight Eats

In 2008 I ran all 5 of the 1/2 marathons that are part of the NYRR (New York Road Runner) Grand Prix. I mostly did all 5 because I was promised a finisher’s certificate and a prize. This was definitely my motivation for waking up at 5am to do the Queens 1/2 marathon. I wanted to sleep in SO much that morning…Anyway, today I finally received my prize packet – mini back-pack, finisher’s patch, and certificate! Hooray. It doesn’t take much to make me happy.1/2 Marathon Grand Prix PrizeManhattan 1/2, January 27, 2008: 1 hour, 50 minutes, 54 seconds (ran with Hannah!)

Bronx 1/2, February 10, 2008: 1 hour, 43 minutes, 31 seconds (someone stole my Nike fleece, grr)

Brooklyn 1/2, May 3, 2008: 1 hour, 36 minutes, 28 seconds (automatic qualification for NYC marathon!)

Queens 1/2, September 14, 2008: 1 hour, 44 minutes, 39 seconds (hot, sweaty, GROSS)

Staten Island 1/2, October 12, 2008: 1 hour, 52 minutes, 7 seconds (ran with Alma, 20 miles total for the day)

Moving on to some good food…Although I love to cook, weeknights are usually pretty hectic. The last few days I have been using up what has been hiding out in my freezer. I usually keep a couple of Amy’s Kitchen meals for a quicky, healthy, and mostly organic dinner. On Wednesday, I tried the tofu scramble for the first time and was pleasantly surprised!

Tofu Scramble

The dinner consisted of tomato slices, hash browns, and a veggie-tofu scramble. The meal clocked in at 320 calories, 19 grams of protein, and 4 grams of fiber. I needed to add a little salt to the hashbrowns, but otherwise it was a very tasty and filling meal. Yum!

Up close

After yesterday’s successful tofu scramble, I decided to try another Amy’s product for tonight’s dinner.  I baked up a single-serving Amy’s Kitchen Pizza Margherita.Amy's Pizza Margherita

This little guy was made up of thin crust dough, fresh tomatoes, little balls of mozzarella, and basil. The crust got nice and crispy in the oven and the basil added a nice kick. This meal is 360 calories, 16 grams of protein, and 3 grams of fiber. It’s less filling than Amy’s other options, so I recommend pairing it with a big salad!

Pizza

For dessert, I’ve been hooked on a toasted Kashi Go Lean waffle topped with Nestle Tollhouse peanut butter & milk chocolate morsels. Mmmm, the chocolate bits get all melty from the heat of the waffle. I also love to eat the pb & chocolate chips straight from the bag….

Kashi waffle dessert

And for tonight’s finale – Peanut Butter & Chocolate Chip Blondies

And the best part? The ingredients are mostly healthy ;-) After seeing all of the lovely blondie creations that Veggie Girl has baked, I decided to try my own variation. Yum, yum, yum! These are delicious.

Healthy Blondie

Ingredients:

  • 6 oz low fat vanilla yogurt (I used Wallaby Vanilla Bean)
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp molasses
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 cup almonds, chopped
  • 2 handfuls of pecan pieces
  • 1/2 cup jumbo raisins
  • 1.5 cups peanut butter and chocolate chips

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 and grease 8 x 8 ” baking pan
  • Mix yogurt, oil, sugar, molasses, and vanilla in bowl
  • To that same bowl, then add: flour, baking soda, nuts, raisins, and pb-chocolate chips
  • Stir until combined, pour into pan
  • Bake about 30-32 minutes or until edges are deep golden brown
  • Allow to cool and enjoy!

Obviously, I had to try a bite as soon as they came out of the oven :-)I tried a bite

One Response

  1. LOOOOOVE your version of the blondies!!! :-D

Leave a Reply

