I Love Vegetables

My office has a pretty good and inexpensive cafeteria that I utilize quite often. I go through phases – sometimes I will cook on the weekends and bring lunch from home, other times (when life gets hectic!) the cafeteria salad bar can be a good alternative. It’s so nice to have someone else do the prep work – wash the salad greens, chop onions, cook the beans, etc. And even though I get the same thing every day, I never get bored! I love the mixture of flavors, textures, and colors in my salad creation. An the best part is, if I fill up on veggies at lunch, I don’t have to worry about getting them in at dinner. For example, I didn’t get home until almost 9pm last night and the LAST thing I wanted to do was steam some broccoli. Instead I was able to throw together a quick dinner of cereal and yogurt and still have a fairly balanced day of eating. And this sounds lame, but vegetables make me feel so GOOD. It’s like my stomach is smiling :-)

Salad

Lunch!In the mix:

  • mixed greens and spinach
  • red onion
  • sliced mushrooms
  • shredded carrot
  • shredded zucchini
  • about 1/3 cup of beans (kidney, black, or chickpea)
  • feta cheese
  • Tbs dried cranberries
  • whole grain croutons
  • homemade balsamic vinaigrette (SOOO good, I even asked the chef for the recipe!)
  • Depending on the day’s selection, I might add a scoop of something “fun” – last week I sampled the cafeteria’s asparagus guacamole, broccoli slaw, and russian potato salad.
3 Responses

  1. You know we are truly healthy eaters when we consider something “fun” to be guac or potato salad lol

  2. […] My usual salad and banana walnut breakfast cookie (6 grams of fiber! 6 grams of […]

  3. […] Salads from the office cafeteria. […]

Leave a Reply

