The Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Cookies

Last July I baked a batch of chocolate chip cookies made with smart balance instead of butter. Nate claimed they were the best cookies I’ve ever made and has been asking me (constantly!) to make some more. I couldn’t recall the original recipe, but I knew the cookies had a chewy, puffy consistency (vs. flat and crispy). I based my cookies on Alton Brown’s recipe and discovered that shortening or margarine creates a puffy cookie, while butter produces a flatter and crisper texture. To further increase the “chew” factor, I used a greater ratio of brown sugar (1 cup) to white sugar (3/4 cup). The molasses in brown sugar adds moisture to the batter and adds an extra dimension to the overall flavor. Finally, I substituted 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1 cup all-purpose flour, and 1/4 cup corn starch for the cake flour (didn’t have any cake flour on hand). Different types of flours have varying gluten and protein contents, so cake flour, all-purpose, and bread flour can not be substituted 1:1. Cake flour has a lower gluten and protein content and thus produces baked goods with a lighter, fluffier consistency (think: angel food cake, puffy cookies). If you’re going to substitute all-purpose flour for cake flour, the general rule is to replace 2 Tb of all-purpose flour with 2 Tb cornstarch (per 1 cup measurement). And now on to the recipe!

Cookie Dough

Ingredients

  • 1 cup smart balance
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1 tsp  salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Directions

Heat oven to 375 degrees F. Combine the smart balance, sugar, and brown sugar in stand mixer, and cream until light and fluffy. In the meantime, combine flours,  cornstarch, salt, and baking powder and set aside.

Add the eggs 1 at a time to the creamed mixture. Then add vanilla. Increase the speed until thoroughly incorporated.

With the mixer set to low, slowly add the dry ingredients to the smart balance mixture and combine well. Stir in the chocolate chips. Chill the dough. Scoop onto silicone mat lined baking sheets, 6 per sheet. Bake for 12-14  minutes or until golden brown and puffy. Halfway through baking time, rotate the baking sheet for even browning. Cool and store in an airtight-container.

Fresh out of the oven

Note:  If you don’t bake the cookies on silicon mats, they may be done sooner. Also, these cookies bordered on crumbly, so next time I may bump up the smart balance and reduce the brown sugar a tad.

6 Responses

  1. I dunno. My cookies have never turned out right. They’re always burnt or underbaked. I want them to be chewy but they fall apart or are cakey. I HATE cakey cookies. I followed your recipes and other recipes to a tee but they don’t turn out well. I’ve made them with whole wheat and I’ve made some with white flour. I’ve made them with smart balance and I’ve made them with butter. Doesn’t seem to make a difference.

    My sister-in-law’s cookies are always nice but she’s tight lipped about the recipe.

  2. The first step to get to happiness

    http://www.imanway1.com/eng/

  3. I’ve made these several times, and they come out great! Everybody loves them. They’re my new potluck/party staple. Thanks!

  4. BTW, I cook them on cut-up paper grocery bags. They absorb just enough oil and make a perfectly textured cookie.

  5. Holly—here you go. You can thank me after you tried them! LOL!

    http://www.food.com/recipe/perfect-chocolate-chip-cookies-americas-test-kitchen-387119

  6. I must say these were not the cookies I was looking for. I have to be honest, they were not tasty or appetizing at all, sorry. I know its not due to any fault of mine since I have always baked. I can say that the texture was somewhat ok but the flavor was not there.

Leave a Reply

