Buitoni Wild Mushroom Agnolotti with Broccoli and Marinara

The other evening, I arrived home to find a box on my doorstep (well, actually I live in a Manhattan apartment building, so my the box was being held by the super). I opened the flaps and discovered that FoodBuzz had overnight shipped me some Buitoni pasta to sample! The Wild Mushroom Agnolotti (i.e. big ravioli) is from Buitoni’s new Riserva line of pastas.

A package arrives!

Buitoni Ravioli

“This blend of earthy mushrooms, including sweet, rustic portobellos and delicate criminis, creates an impeccable pairing with fresh-roasted garlic and imported grana padano and parmesan cheeses, wrapped inside thin layers of stone-ground semolina pasta. ” – Description from the Buitoni Web Site

Doesn’t that make you HUNGRY?? It sure made my stomach growl. These little guys are quite dense (320 calories, 14 grams protein, and 3 grams of fiber in a 1 cup serving), so I knew I wanted to round out my meal with some veggies. I decided to toss the cooked agnolotti with roasted broccoli and marinara sauce. Verdict: Amazing! The cheese flavor was rich and delicious, the pasta was tender, and the mushrooms added a savory flavor to the mix. I would definitely buy these again. Next time I might try the quattro formaggio (4 cheese) variety of agnolotti with pesto!

Agnolotti

Up close

Yum, Yum, Thanks Buitoni!

6 Responses

  1. that looks really yummy…

  2. Any word on if they’ll ever come out with a whole wheat version of these pastas? I actually like to make ravioli from scratch, but that can be an all-day affair. I’m always tempted to pick these up in the store, but the non-whole-wheat-ness always stops me.

  3. looks yummy! thanks.

  4. Hmm, I wish it came in a whole wheat version! Oh well, it’s still VERY yummy :-) If you add lots of veggies you can increase the fiber content and make up for the lack of whole grains.

  5. Jesse and I tried these tonight with sun-dried tomato pesto sauce and a side of peas. Delicious! I want more now! I agree that Buitoni should step it up with making more whole wheat stuff – it would be 10x better! Thanks for the tip Megs!

  6. I can’t find any place around that has Buiotoni Mushroom Pasta, or any of the products. I need to know where to order.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

