Homemade Yogurt

After reading about Sarah’s homemade yogurt, I decided to dust off my own yogurt maker and make a batch. I began by heating 42 oz of skim milk in a large saucepan. Once the milk began to boil, I turned off the heat and let it cool to warm room temperature. Boil 42 oz of milk

I poured the milk into a pitcher and added a packet of culture (you could also do it the old school way and add a cup of already made yogurt instead). Note: DO NOT mix the culture into very hot milk as the heat will kill the culture. The milk should be room temp. I stirred everything together and then divided the milk-culture mixture amongst the 7 glass containers.

Add culture

Once the containers were situated in the yogurt maker, I plugged it in and turned it on. Skim milk usually takes about 7-8 hours to turn into yogurt. Low-fat and whole milk will take less time. It’s very important that the yogurt maker is not moved or disturbed during the incubation period. I usually turn the yogurt maker on right before I go to bed and then unplug it when I wake up.Incubate for 7-8 hours

Once you unplug the yogurt maker, carefully remove the glass jars, cover, and refrigerate for at least 3 hours before enjoying. Making your own yogurt IS a lot of work, but it’s very economical. For about $1 worth of milk, I was able to make seven 5 ounce jars of yogurt. I like to add fruit preserves and granola to my homemade yogurt, yum!Refrigerate and enjoy!

8 Responses

  1. That’s so neat! Can you make different flavors during the process?

  2. homemade yogurt is the best!! :-)

  3. I didn’t even know you had a yogurt maker! You know Jesse is going to want to do this.

  4. Hi! Thanks for reading about my adventures in homemade yogurt :-) You can definitely experiment with different flavors. To flavor the milk before it becomes yogurt, you could add fruit puree (cook a little fruit and sugar on the stove), cocoa powder, instant coffee, etc.

  5. yay! a yogurt maker would be a great 4-year anniversary gift for Jesse :-)

  6. Jen,
    I’m telling you right now: Homemade yogurt is not an acceptable present for the members of your wedding party. Jesse better not get any ideas…

  7. […] And don’t forget about sales! In the last few weeks, my local supermarket has had specials on organic Wallaby, organic Stonyfield Farm Oikos, and Chobani greek yogurts. Finally, have you thought about making your own yogurt? It takes some hands-on effort, but I can make 7 small cups of yogurt for less than $1. Read how I did it here. […]

  8. […] When purchasing yogurt, the larger (32 oz) container is a better deal than individual cups. Check out this link: http://coupons.stonyfield.com/new_coupon3.cfm for Stonyfield Farm coupons. Trader Joe’s has a great store-brand Greek yogurt that is much cheaper than the brand names. And don’t forget about sales! In the last few weeks, my local supermarket has had specials on Wallaby, Stonyfield Farm Oikos, and Chobani yogurts. Finally, have you thought about making your own yogurt? It takes some hands-on effort, but I can make 7 small cups of yogurt for less than $1. Read how I did it here: https://runnerskitchen.wordpress.com/2009/05/03/homemade-yogurt/ […]

Leave a Reply

