Weekend!

After work last night I headed to the AR Hair Salon in Chelsea for a haircut. I’m very low maintenance (wash & go!) and I only get my hair cut about twice a year. However, it had been about 7 months since my last trim and I was looking for a change. I asked the stylist to give me some side swept bangs, add layers to the front, and trim a few inches from the bottom. I really like the result!

New haircut

Hooray!

By the time I got home I was pretty hungry, so I assembled a quick salad dinner. I mixed spinach and sliced strawberries with a homemade dressing comprised of a splash of EVOO, splash of balsamic, and a tsp of honey mustard all whisked together. I topped my salad with a garden herb sunshine burger with melted Celtic cheese (from Trader Joe’s). The sunshine burger was SO good! Possibly the best non-meat burger I’ve ever had. The patty was a mixture of ground raw sunflower seeds, whole grains, carrots, herbs, and spices. Sunshine burgers are organic and contain no soy or gluten. Yum, yum, yum.

Delicious salad

up close

I paired my salad with a bag of Food Should Taste Good potato-chive tortilla chips. Oh lordy, these were good! They were like a hybrid potato-tortilla chip, just the right amount of crunchy, savory, and salty. I topped each chip with a sliver of Celtic cheese, yum. These chips not only tasted good, but they were pretty healthy too. The only ingredients were: stone ground corn, russet and superior potatoes, sunflower/safflower oil, corn bran, chives, and sea salt. My (large) bag of chips had 210 calories, 9 grams of fat, 3 grams of protein, and 6 (!!!) grams of fiber.

Potato & Chive

The nice folks at Food Should Taste Good sent me a box full of their products – I can’t wait to try the cinnamon and sweet potato flavors!

Food Should Taste Good

This morning Nate and I are up super early because we’re participating in the Central Park Spring Couple’s Relay – I’m running 2 miles, he’s biking 12 miles, and then we’re rowing 3/4 of a mile in the Central Park lake. I’ll post a recap later!

3 Responses

  1. You look gorgeous! and those chips sound really good.

  2. Your hair looks great!

    That sounds like a great event at the Park…have fun!!!!!

  3. i love your new hair!

    and your relay sounds so fun. hope it went well!

Leave a Reply

