Day of the 5 Napkin Burger

Although I would love to photograph my every meal, time constraints and forgetfulness often prevent this from happening. Nonetheless, I packed my camera yesterday in attempts of capturing every crumb for you. I’ll try to do this more often, but I hope it doesn’t get too boring! I am a creature of (food) habit :-)

Breakfast was the usual coffee with soy milk at home, followed by banana, Chobani, 1/2 cup Zoe’s granola, and a calcium supplement when I got to the office.

Breakfast

Lunch was a salad from the cafeteria –

Up close

Salad

  • spinach/mixed greens
  • mushrooms
  • sliced red onion
  • shredded carrot
  • roasted asparagus and squash
  • chickpeas & kidney beans (~1/3 cup)
  • 1 oz feta cheese
  • Tbs craisins
  • a few whole grain croutons
  • Tbs balsamic vinaigrette
  • 2 Tbs pesto pasta salad
  • Lime seltzer on the side!

Yum!

I knew dinner was going to be on the later side, so around 4pm I had a snackof Annie’s bunny grahams and a lara fruit & nut bar:

Snacks

My snack left me energized for a good visit to the gym. I used the foam roller first, followed by my core/abs routine, and 3 x 10 push-ups, tricep extensions, bicep curls. At 6:30pm I hopped on a bike for a spinning class. I was feeling kind of cranky and tired for the first 15 minutes, but was really glad I stuck out the class. I had a lot more energy when I finished!

And then the best part of the day – Dinner with Nate! I’m notorious for using lots of napkins when I eat, so a place called 5 Napkin Burgersounded right up my alley. I’ve travelled the city trying out some of NYC’s legendary burger joints: Shake ShackFive Guys, The Burger Joint at Le Parker Meridien, etc.  and after reading last week’s NY Times article about the burger of the month club, I knew 5 Napkin had to be next on my list!

Last night, we headed to the Hell’s Kitchen neighborhood for our 8:30pm reservations. After a long day, I was starving! The atmosphere of the restaurant is pretty interesting – a mixture of exposed ceiling, open space, and cozy tables. 

5 Napkin

A view of the bar

I decided to order what the restaurant was famous for and chose the Original 5 Napkin Burger. My 10 oz of fresh ground chuck came covered with caramelized onions, Gruyere cheese, and rosemary aoili nestled on a soft roll.

Megan's burger & fries

Nate ordered the same thing, but with coleslaw instead of fries. I tasted the slaw and it was very good – it was dressed in a peppery vinaigrette.

Nate's Burger & Slaw

This sandwich was no joke! Very messy, but very delicious. The portion was generous and I was pleasantly full after eating half the burger and most of the fries. I look forward to enjoying the rest of my burger tomorrow – perhaps I will only need 2.5 napkins?

3 Responses

  1. Oh cool, I read about the 5-napkin burger in TimeOut or NYmag or something. I’m glad it won your seal of approval!

  2. yums I love burgers! and I hope you DO post your daily foods more often. I get inspired when I see others eat healthy =)…

  3. MMMM..that burger looks sinfully delicious! Just love the way the cheese melts off of it!

    Yummy eats :)

Leave a Reply

