Thursday

I began Thursday with a morning trip to the gym (still trying to find activities that don’t exacerbate my IT band/hamstring/butt pain). After 30 minutes of elliptical, 10 minutes of rowing, and some foam rolling I was feeling pleasantly sweaty!

Breakfast was coffee, calcium supplement,  1/2 apple, 1/2 banana, cinnamon raisin bagel, and Tbs Barney Butter (almond butter).

Breakfast

Lunch was my usual salad and iced green tea. I ate outside in the sunshine!

Lunch

Today’s mix included:

  • spinach
  • shredded carrots
  • sliced red onion
  • sliced mushrooms
  • 2 Tbs balsamic vinaigrette
  • white beans & chickpeas (~1/2 cup)
  • feta cheese (~1 oz)
  • Tbs craisins
  • Tbs whole grain croutons

It was delicious! But I need to stop buying $2 bottles of fancy iced tea….

I love Annie’s graham bunnies so much! I finished up what was left in the box (maybe 1.5 servings?) for an afternoon snack. Now it’s time to buy some more!Bunny GrahamsI knew dinner was going to be late (~9pm) so I need a little pick-me up after work. I was lured in to Tasti D-Lite where I purchased a small cone.

Small Cone

Once I got home, I began preparing dinner. I based my Middle Eastern Stuffed Peppers on a recipe I found in Women’s Health Magazine.

empty peppers

The filling

Cooked Peppers

Read on for the details on my version:

Ingredients

  • 4 red bell peppers
  • 1/2 – 1 lb ground turkey breast
  • 1/4 cup chopped olives
  • 1/2 cup golden raisins
  • 8 oz tomato sauce
  • 1 tsp diced garlic
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 cup cooked brown rice

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  • Cut tops off of bell peppers, save tops and set aside, remove seeds, and place peppers in a small baking dish
  • Spray a medium frying pan with cooking spray and cook meat, garlic, cinnamon, and cumin over medium heat for ~4 minutes
  • Add tomato sauce and raisins and cook for another 4 minutes
  • Remove from heat, stir in olives and rice
  • Divide meat-rice mixture evenly among the bell peppers
  • Cover baking dish tightly with foil and bake for 15 minutes at 400 degrees

Yum! My stuffed pepper was delicous with a glass of ice cold beer.

Dinner and beer

I finished the night with a few squares of my favorite chocolate bar – Cadbury’s fruit & nut!

fruit and nut bar

5 Responses

  1. Beer on a weeknight?? You wild woman!

  2. The stuffed peppers look great! I’ll have to try those :)

  3. I’ve been having the same type of pain. IT band issues kept me from running for almost two months and I’m just getting back to it. Really the thing that helped me most, as much as I hate to say it, was anti-inflammatories that the doc prescribed. I was so reluctant to take anything, and kept putting it off, and when I finally did everything got better so quickly.

  4. […] was a leftover middle-eastern stuffed pepper and a slice of my homemade whole wheat bread (I’ve been keeping it in the […]

  5. It’s true what you said about spending money on fancy iced teas. I made an iced coffee today, with coffee that was left in the pot from this morning. It turned out great. I can’t believe that people spend about $5 on them! They are so cheap to make! Same with iced tea and you can add whatever you want to it.
    http://islandgirleats.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

