Inspired by The Orangette

I’ve talked about my admiration for Molly Wizenberg’s writing before and yesterday’s food choices were much inspired by her blog “The Orangette” and her recent book. On Sunday evening, I baked chocolate chip-banana bread and I think it was one of the top 3 banana breads that I’ve ever eaten (tooting my own horn, just a bit!) The recipe is based on Molly’s ginger-chocolate chip banana bread, but I made a few modifications. I omitted the crystallized ginger, used whole wheat flour instead of white flour, and used non-fat greek yogurt instead of regular yogurt. The results were divine – the bread was extremely moist, just sweet enough, and the addition of whole wheat flour makes it (almost) healthy.  I ate this bread (covered in chunky peanut butter) for breakfast, lunch, and dessert yesterday. So good!

banana-chocolate chip bread

My dinner was another Orangette-inspired meal. According to Molly, the French often eat radishes with butter, salt, and baguette.  I was a little skeptical of this (radishes? butter? for a meal?!!), but the Farmer’s Market had some great looking radishes this weekend so I decided to give it a try. The result: Delicious! I mean…any combination of butter and baguette has to be at least a little yummy. I sliced the radishes, spread hunks of bread with butter, sprinkled on some sea salt, and made little sandwiches. The radish variety that I bought was called “French Breakfast”  and they were lovely, long, and rosy pink.  The creamy butter and salt really complemented the peppery bite of the radish. If you’ve never been a fan of radishes, this technique may change your mind. Buy some fresh butter, a crusty baguette, some lovely radishes, and pretend you’re French for the day :-)

From above

Unusual dinner

Up close

7 Responses

  1. I was wanting to make choc chip banana bread this weekend! The recipe I have is just so-so, so I think I might give yours a try! Thanks for sharing :)

  2. Oh but wait, there aren’t any measurements! Do you think it would be ok to use measurements in my other recipe but use your substitutions?

  3. Hi Stacey,
    I didn’t post the recipe on the blog because it’s from a book and I think the actual recipe might be copyright protected. However, I’d be happy to email you the recipe. It really is delicious – I might make it again this weekend!

  4. […] I’m off to bake another chocolate-chip banana bread. Last weekend’s loaf disappeared in record […]

  5. That sounds delicious- I would also love the recipe! I just started following your blog and I am loving it :)

  6. Hi! I saw that you were able to email the banana chocolate bread to someone else, is it possible to email it to me as well?? Thank you!!

  7. Hi Erica,

    I posted my adapted version of the recipe here: http://www.runnerskitchen.com/2009/08/7-sunrise-miles/

    the bread is SO good warmed up with a little peanut butter on top :-) Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

