Busy Thursday

I really did not want to get up when my alarm went off at 5:53am yesterday. For a few minutes I laid in bed and considered skipping the gym. However, I wanted to do some errands after work and I knew a morning workout would leave me with more flexibility in my schedule. After a cup of coffee (with milk) from the coffee cart, I hopped on the subway and headed downtown.

Coffee #1

I made it to my gym in time  for a 7am cycling class. The instructor was a little crazy – he jumped around and yelled “pedal faster, go harder!” for nearly the entire class. I was very sweaty by the time we were done! After class, I hopped on the elliptical for 20 minutes, and finished up with some stretching and lifting. By this point, I needed coffee #2 (ice coffee with soy milk) followed by a banana (on the go!)

Coffee #2

banana

My morning was pretty hectic, but I managed to eat some yogurt and peanut butter granola at my desk. Excuse the blurry photo. I barely had time to eat, let alone photograph :-)

yogurt and granola

Around 1:30pm, I took a break for lunch – an apple and my usual salad from the cafeteria.

granny smith

Salad

Today’s mix included:

  • mixed greens, red onion, mushrooms, tomato, carrots
  • ~ 1/3 cup kidney beans
  • feta cheese
  • Tbs craisins
  • whole grain croutons
  • Tbs balsamic vinaigrette
  • A bit of tri-color orzo
  • A few sliced beets

Afternoon snack was Annie’s graham bunnies (love these so much!)

Bunny Grahams

Check out this interesting NY Times article on running, injuries, and Sports Medicine.

After work, I headed down the madhouse that is Trader Joe’s. I had space to navigate the aisles, but the line was insane! After I left, I headed to the subway for the looong ride home and snacked on a newly purchased Babybel cheese.

Babybel

After settling in and unpacking my groceries, I was more than ready for dinner. I whipped up a smoothie using 1/2 cup 1% milk, 1/2 banana, 1/2 cup frozen berries, Tbs of ricotta, big handful of spinach, and a few ice cubes. It was yummy – so many fruits and veggies! However, I was f-r-e-e-z-i-n-g afterwards. I need to save smoothies for when the weather is sweltering :-)

Smoothie

I toasted up two slices of my homemade wheat bread and topped it with peanut butter and honey.

toast with pb & honey

For dessert, I finally tried a Trader Joe’s molasses chew cookie. So soft and yummy!

Cookie

I way up pretty late reading and listening to music, so around 11pm I decided to make myself some herbal tea and sample a few Trader Joe’s Righteous Rounds. These little guys reminded me of Chips Ahoy, however they are no ordinary cookies. In addition to the the usual baking ingredients, the cookies contain soy flour (fiber & protein) and vegetable extracts. I like how broccoli is actually  listed as one of  the ingredients! 5 cookies have 130 calories and 3 grams of fiber. Furthermore, they aren’t heated above 75 degrees  in order to retain vitamin and nutrient benefits. Read more about the cookies here!

Righteous Rounds

Do you have any favorite Trader Joe’s products?

TGIF! I hope your Friday is a good one :-)

4 Responses

  1. I love Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods! I moved to upstate NY a couple months ago and sadly, neither one is up here. :-( I’ll have to stock up when I visit my parent’s house this weekend! Thanks again for your healthy food tips! I added you to my blogroll on my page. Your blog was actually the first health/food blog I got hooked on! :-)

  2. I’m a newbie to your blog after your post on KERF. :D

    Lovin’ that salad combo…mmm…feta cheese makes me one happy girl. :D

  3. Megan,
    If you ever trick me into eating a cookie with broccoli in it, I will never forgive you.

  4. Megan, You need to trick Joe into eating a cookie with broccoli in it. I approve.

Leave a Reply

