Loading Up on Vitamin D

My day started off pretty well. I woke up around 9am and made a bee-line for Dunkin’ Donuts. Mmm, coffee. After my daily dose of crack caffeine I made breakfast. I mixed 2 Tbs of PB2 with a container of plain Greek yogurt, 1/2 cup of berries, and 1 cup + of Heritage O’s. The combo of protein, fiber, and carbohydrates held me over for hours. Plus it tasted delicious! I love adding PB2 to yogurt – it makes the yogurt taste very decadent and the addition of berries reminded me of a PB & J.

a.m. beverages

Oikos breakfast bowl

After breakfast, I headed downtown to Central Park. I found a sunny spot and read my new library book while catching some sun rays. I started The Queen of Bable by Meg Cabot last night and finished it this afternoon. It was the perfect light reading for a summer day. Every girl needs a little chick lit in her life :-)

Reading in the park

After my reading break, I met up with Alma. We chatted while walking down Central Park West. After our stroll I headed to my gym for 30 minutes on the elliptical followed by LOTS of stretching and strengthening exercises for my IT band/knee. I also used the foam roller until I couldn’t take it anymore. Dear lord, that thing makes mince-meat out of my leg muscles. I’m really hoping it helps my angry (and very tight!) IT band. One of these days I will take photos of the strengthening and stretching exercises that I do. ITBS (Iliotibial Band Syndrome) is such a common problem among runners – I’d be happy to share any tips that can make it better.

After my gym visit, I reemerged into the bright sunshine. Time for some Tasti D-Lite! I was very excited to see that the Flavor-Of-The-Day was Oreo-Peanut Butter. So good! Apparently this stuff only contains 85 calories per 4 oz serving, but it tastes a little too good to be true!

Oreo Peanut Butter Tasti D-Lite

After a bit more walking and window shopping on the West Side, I decided to head home. After all day in the sun I was looking for something to cool me off. A smoothie seemed to be just the thing I was craving.

smoothie

In the mix:

  • 4 ice cubes
  • 1/2 cup 1% milk
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 cup frozen berries
  • 2 big handfuls of spinach
  • tsp honey

I originally used 1/2 cup of frozen berries, but after sampling the mixture I realized I could taste the spinach! I added more frozen berries and another squirt of honey and this solved the problem. Sweet, frozen, and delicious.

I finally finished up the other half of my grilled chicken wrap – it held up surprisingly well in the fridge and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Leftovers

After dinner I spent a few hours writing. Around 9pm I tried a new variety of Honest Tea – Citrus Spice Decaf. I also had 1/2 bag some of the very addictive Trader Joe’s Righteous Rounds. At least they contain broccoli!

Decaf spice tea

Righteous Rounds

Now I’m off to bake another chocolate-chip banana bread. Last weekend’s loaf disappeared in record time!

5 Responses

  1. I’d love to see what you do to prevent ITBS. I had to stop running for a few months in March and April because of it. The sports doctor I went to said that the problem for me was that the muscles in my upper leg were all out of whack, so a hip muscles (TFL) not firing properly was the true problem. I had no idea knee pain could be so complex.

    They gave me some swiss ball exercises, quad and adductor stretches, and an antiinflammatory. I’m all better now, having just run a great half marathon yesterday! But I need to make sure it stays away for good.

  2. reading your blog makes me miss NYC very very much…I love NY! Hmm, my friend is there right now, time to pay her a visit…;-)
    lol, I think it’s cool you put your smoothie in a jar bottle!

  3. […] smoothie made with yogurt, frozen fruit, spinach, almond butter, and ice […]

  4. Hi. Very solid information on Maqui Berry. I happened upon your good blog while searching google. For the preceding few days I have been trying to discover more. Specially anything to do with the diet babble. I’ve heard it all and my neighbor keeps pushing her newfound weight loss fad on me. So I am glad I encountered you. All the best!

  5. Hi. I have recently started training for a marathon. I’ve always been in moderate shape (i run 5k’s every month for charities). When I started training though, after a week of hard training, me knee had incredible pain. Physical therapist said ITBS. I have taken a week off and tried to run, only got about 1/4 mi. I took 2 weeks off then ran and now I can only run about 1/2 mi without excruciating pain. any ideas on what I could do to help my knee? I stretch, take aleve and ice my knee regularly…

Leave a Reply

