Beer ‘n Burgers with Boys

Nice use of alliteration, eh? Although it was only Tuesday, the warm summer air put me in the mood for a post-work beer. Nate and I headed to Coppersmith’s (53rd St & 9th Ave) to take advantage of their 4-10pm happy hour specials. I felt like such a bad-ass drinking beer at a bar on a worknight! If you can’t already tell, this isn’t something I usually do :-) Nate started off with a Brooklyn Lager.

BK lager

I, on the other hand, wanted to take advantage of the $3 Miller Lite pints. Perhaps not the best beer choice I could have made, but it was only $3!! Not bad for a midtown bar in NYC…

Miller lite

The burgers were also on special 2-for-1! I ordered my burger medium with a slice of swiss cheese. My expectations weren’t that high (it WAS a dive bar), but I was pleasantly surprised. My burger was cooked exactly how I like it (and covered in melt-y cheese!), the fries were crispy on the outside/soft on the inside, and the accompanying vegetables were fresh and flavorful. My only gripe is – I wish we’d had a second bottle of ketchup. Nate and I are both ketchup fiends.

2-for-1

Mmm, burger.

About half-way through our burgers we were joined by a group of WESXC dudes (i.e. former Wesleyan Cross-Country teammates). I’m so excited that Nate, “Mad dog”, Kurry, “Saturday”, & Eddie read my blog AND wanted to be featured in it. It was a fun night, but around 10:30pm I knew it was time for me to head home. I was back in my apartment before midnight and ready for bed. Cheers to beers and burgers on Tuesday nights!

Boys

2 Responses

  1. Just had to delurk for a bit and tell you that I love your blog! I live on 9th Ave. and 56th street so I love seeing all of the local places you visit. If you’re looking for another bar with really good food, you should try Mercury bar…It’s on 9th Ave and (I believe) 44th street. The last time I went I had a veggie burger which was probably one of the best I’ve had in the city…My boyfriend ordered it also (we’re both veg) and abs. loved it. The fries and drinks were great too…thanks for a great blog!

  2. Ok you’re making me want to move to NYC not only to see you more (which would be freaking awesome) but also to go to all the cool places you find. You know Jesse and I appreciate the “Ithaca is Gorges” shirt in this pic too! See you in a few weeks!!!

Leave a Reply

