Weekend in Montauk

Friday was crazy-busy, but I’m writing this post from the Sail Inn in Montauk (Eastern tip of Long Island), so I guess I can’t complain too much! I started my Friday with some Green Mountain breakfast blend coffee and a hectic commute. In addition to my overnight back pack, purse, and lunch bag I carried Nate’s disk wheel bags and tire pump. My arms and back were a-c-h-i-n-g by the time I got to work. Who needs weight lifting when you have heavy stuff to schlep?? Once I arrived at the office, I chowed down on breakfast – 2% Fage greek yogurt, PB2, banana, and a 1/2 cup of Optimum Slim cereal.
DSCF2519
DSCF2523
I was able to leave the office at 1pm, so Nate and I could catch an early train out to Long Island. On the way I ate a yummy packed lunch – almond butter, honey, and banana on sprouted bread. With some carrot sticks on the side! And for dessert I had yogurt covered pretzels. My lunch was something a 6-year-old would want, but I liked it too :-)
DSCF2514
DSCF2525
When we arrived in Montauk, Nate and I piled all of our stuff into a cab (triathletes do NOT pack light) and headed to the hotel. The Sail Inn is a cute, low-key property near the site of this weekend’s Mighty Montauk triathlon. After checking in, we checked out our weekend accomodations.
DSCF2541
DSCF2543
DSCF2529
DSCF2532
After Nate picked up his race number, we did a little exploring. I snacked on an apple and some peanuts to tame my hunger. On our walk we passed the Montauk harbor, boat slips, some cute cafes, and the general store. The vibe here is very low key and laid back and the weather has been holding up beautifully. Throughout the evening, we enjoyed balmy temperatures and a warm sunset.
DSCF2518
DSCF2533
DSCF2540
DSCF2535
DSCF2539
Around 7pm, Nate headed out on short bike ride. I would have loved to go for a run, but unfortunately my hamstring and knee were really killing me. Instead, I walked along the beach while talking to my mom on the phone :-) When I returned, I continued my quest to build muscle by doing 3×10 push-ups, tricep dips, lunges, squats, calf raises, and my ab routine. I think my arms are finally starting to become a little less wimpy looking.
Nate and I were looking for a quick dinner so we grabbed sandwiches from the Montauk Market. I chose the toasted vegetarian delight: sprouts, avocado, romaine, tomato, onion, and cheddar on whole wheat.
DSCF2544
Meanwhile, Nate prepared for his race with the Italian Stallion wrap: lots of salami, cheese, and other meats. He also got some poptarts and a candy bar for “after the race”. I tried a piece of the vanilla milkshake poptart and it was OK. I think I prefer strawberry though! I actually ate 2 strawberry frosted poptarts the day that I set my 5K track PR (18:52). Oh, to run that fast again! I still think poptarts make a good pre-race snack :-)
DSCF2549
DSCF2551
Now I’m drinking coffee and getting ready to spectate the triathlon – Go Nate!
4 Responses

  1. Good luck to Nate!! I love Montauk – it’s so pretty and so quiet, especially early in the season. And it never seems to get as crazy as the Hamptons. Enjoy!!

  2. Sounds like you have a great weekend lined up! Good luck to Nate and enjoy the spectating! Will he be coming to WB with you?

  3. Hey runner!

    Awesome blog! I love checking it every day :) and I recently starting my own…..to talk about my experience training for the Chicago Marathon, and to raise money for an anti-violence program (I’m a school social worker in the city and I see far too many of my students affected by gang violence).

    I was wondering if it would be ok if I listed your url on my blog as one of my favorites? Please let me know – and I would love it if you ever wanted to check it out at http://www.marathonval.blogspot.com.

    Thanks! :)

  4. What a cute little town. I liked the look of the General Store.

Leave a Reply

