Just add leg warmers

Monday night I took a new cardio/strength class at my gym. I’m always skeptical of group fitness classes – didn’t they die out in the ’80s?? Anyway, I was looking to mix-up my workout routine and decided to give SHRED a try. Here’s the description from the Equinox website

SHRED was created by Matthew Waszen. This total body workout will challenge your cardiovascular and strength levels with body weight, free weights, plyometrics and core stability training. Push yourself to new limits by shocking your system and shredding your body fat away just in time for summer.

I chose my spot in the studio and set out my step, 12 lb body bar, medicine ball, and 5 lb weights. We started the class with some medicine ball warm-ups and proceeded on to a choreographed routine of planks, jumping jacks, push-ups, weight lifting, and cardio intervals. HOLY COW. I thought I was going to die. We did this one particulary dificult exercise: 12 jumping jacks, 12 push-ups, 11 jumping jacks, 11 push-ups, 10 jumping jacks, 10 push-ups, and so on…until we reached zero. By the end of the 45 minute class, my legs were very tired, but I finished up with an easy 20 minutes on the elliptical. This is weak 2 of my strength building phase and I’m hoping muscles will start to get a little bit stronger!

Tuesday morning was slow going – I could not wake up when my alarm went off at 6:45am. I ended up staying in bed until 7:30am! After preparing for the day and dropping of some dry cleaning, I headed out the door.

Breakfast was coffee with milk, 2 sliced fresh apricots, skim milk, and 1/2 cup Nature’s Path Optimum Slim cereal. The cereal reminds me a lot of Kashi Go Lean and it has similar stats – 9 grams of Protein and 9 grams of Fiber per 1 cup serving. This cereal is a little sweet and a lot crunchy. Two thumbs up for being organic to boot!

Breakfast

I squeezed in a quick mid-day workout: 3×10 lunges, 3×10 push-ups, 25 minutes elliptical, and 5 minutes rowing.

Lunch was my usual salad with sun chips!

salad lunch

sun chips

In today’s salad:

  • romaine and mixed greens
  • carrots, red onion, black olives
  • ~1/3 cup 4 bean salad
  • feta cheese
  • Tbs dried cranberries
  • 2 Tbs balsamic vinaigrette
  • Whole grain croutons

Last night from 6-9pm I attended a Cake & Desserts class at the Whole Foods-Bowery Culinary Center. You might remember the classes I took on pie-making and bread-baking over the past few months. These classes are small, hands-on sessions that focus on a specific kitchen skill. I always leave with a notebook full of tips, great recipes, and yummy food. Stay tuned for a complete review of the class :-)

Since I was busy baking during the evening hours, I had a lot of snacks rather than a regular dinner. I started off with some carrots sticks and a babybel cheese. I kept a baggie of pecans and dried cherries in my apron pocket and nibbled as I went along.

Snack #1

snack #2

And you can bet that I had quite a few samples of the delicious things we baked. On the menu: Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting, Hot Fudge Pudding Cake, Biscuits with Lemon Curd, and Blueberry Cobbler. Yum!!

10 Responses

  1. AH, I love SHRED! I actually take his class on Fridays at 54th Street and I’m so glad he hasn’t gone all the way to 0 on the pushup/jumping jack combo. He’s only gone down to 5 so far and I think I would die if he went all the way. It’s a great full body workout though! I loved taking his 15 minute abs class right before SHRED too. My whole body was shaking by the time I crawled out of the studio :)

    Can’t wait to read about the cake class!

  2. Yes! I will be there! I’ll be sure to let you know if I can’t make it for some reason, but I usually try to make it to the 5:15 Just Abs class and hide on the far side of the studio (near the scary trampolines!).

  3. Just a tip – if you’re shaking by the end of a class, then you don’t need to jump on the elliptical. Just saying…

  4. I wasn’t actually shaking. It was a good kind of “tired muscle feeling”…nothing dangerous, I assure you!

  5. Can’t wait to hear some recipes! I made that banana bread and it was delicious!
    That class sounds great! I want to join an equinox near me so badly–the classes sound amazing.

  6. I am really excited to see that you had croutons in your salad. I love croutons in my salad and I always feel guilty when I add them since I never see anyone else adding them online. They make the salad in my opinion. haha

  7. Yum! I hope you are going to later post the recipes for these delicious desserts? :)

  8. Oh what a fun cooking class to go to – I want to see pictures of those delish creations.

    How is the Optimum Slim cereal? I’ve never tried it.

  9. That cake class sounds fun! I can’t wait to hear about it!

  10. Catiechurch – croutons DO make the salad :-) I add them everyday!

    Holly – Optimum Slim is great! very crunchy with a slight vanilla flavor. i don’t really like the name though…reminds me of Slim Fast, blech!

Leave a Reply

