Puddles

Thursday was another dreary, rainy day. When is it going to start feeling like summer?? After a 45 minute commute involving puddle jumping, midtown traffic dodging, and some wet shoes, I was safely indoors and ready for breakfast. This bowl isn’t the most glamorous looking creation, but it served its purpose! 2/3 cup plain Greek yogurt, 1/2 cup frozen berries, and 1/2 cup Optimum Slim. Two cups of coffee on the side (ugh, didn’t get to bed until after midnight).

Yogurt bowl

Lunch was on the later side (2:30pm) and was my usual salad from the cafeteria.

In the mix:

  • mixed greens, romaine, onions, carrots, shredded zucchini
  • kidney beans (~1/3 cup), feta cheese, whole grain croutons
  • dried cherries
  • Tbs balsamic vinaigrette
  • 3-Seed cracker and a few olives (yum!)

Salad

Later on I had a Kashi chocolate-pretzel bar (5 grams of fiber and 11 grams of protein) and an adora calcium supplement.

Snack

I dashed out of the office at 5:30pm to make a 6pm hot vinyasa yoga class. As usual I was a puddle of sweat by the end! I rehydrated with a large SIGG full of water and some raisins. I made a quick pit-stop at my gym to cool down on the elliptical for a couple minutes, shower, and then headed back uptown.

sweaty

snack

When I finally got home I tried out one of the new French Meadow Hemp Bagels that I received the other day (packed on dry ice!). These bagels were packed with 19 grams of protein and 13 grams of fiber! The bagels had a very earthy taste and were covered in seeds. The nutritional stats on these guys were amazing and they tasted good too!

Hemp Bagels

From the French Meadow website: Start your day right. Each of our deliciously chewy Hemp Bagels contains 19 grams of protein and 13 grams of fiber and is packed with crunchy, nutty hempseed, flaxseed, pumpkin and sesame seeds. Try one toasted for breakfast or as the base for a satisfying sandwich.

Covered in almond butter, banana, and honey – yum!

hemp bagel

I was still feeling a little hungry after my bagel so I finished off the last of my Optimum Slim cereal with some milk.

cereal

After some housework (bleh) and some blog work I treated myself to some Hershey’s chocolate twizzlers.  Around midnight it was time for bed. Now it’s Friday. TGIF!!

twizzlers

Links that I like:

5 Responses

  1. Hmmm….. I usually dont care for Twizzlers but CHOCOLATE?!??! Are they good??

  2. Hold the phones. Chocolate Twizzlers?? Where did you find these and are they good?

    Stinks that you have to work until 5:30, but I do hope you can sneak out early and make it to SHRED. If not, we should definitely get together soon!

  3. Sounds like a busy busy evening!

  4. the chocolate twizzlers are pretty good! my mom sent them to me – i think they can be found at the grocery store/Target. i bet they would be a good movie theater snack :-)

  5. […] products (packed on dry ice) from French Meadow Bakery. Hooray! Last week I sampled one of their hemp bagels – with 19 grams of protein and 13 grams of fiber, it was a nutrition powerhouse. French Meadow […]

Leave a Reply

