Food Inc. and Two Boots

Saturday morning started off with a Kashi honey almond flax granola bar and 1/2 banana. Then I was on my way to meet Alma for a run in Central Park!

1st Breakfast

My leg still isn’t 100%, but I’ve decided to start running a bit anyway. It doesn’t feel worse after I run (in fact it feels better the looser it gets) and I’m being VERY good about icing, stretching, PT sessions, ibuprofen afterwards, and applying arnica cream. I’m convinced I’ve got soft tissue problem that improves the more I move my legs and muscles. I won’t be doing any fast workouts, just easy running/jogging for now. Alma and I ran for about 30 minutes in the Park and then I ran an additional 28 minutes when you add up the time I spent running to and from the subway, gym, and post office. Iced afterwards – felt pretty good for the rest of the day! After running, I had a much-needed iced coffee, Stoyfield Oikos Greek yogurt (vanilla), 1/2 banana, and a very generous amount of Bear Naked Peak Protein granola. I kept refilling my bowl – this stuff is addictive!

iced coffee

Breakfast #2

Protein-packed

Around 2pm, I headed down to Union Square for the Vital Juice Daily pop-up health and wellness retreat. This event was held in the former Virgin Records music store. I received tons of free samples and participated in a Latin Rhythms cardio class hosted by Crunch Fitness. The class was so much fun – I forgot how much I love dancing! Unfortunately I don’t have much rhythm (my West African Dance instructor from senior year thought I was a lost cause), but it still makes me happy to get down and boogie :-)

Vital Juice

Free Samples to take home!

World of Grain

More Samples!

Attune bars

And more!

Steaz teas

I love me some coupons…

Samples & Coupons

Crunch Fitness

After the dance class, I headed to Whole Foods. I re-hydrated with a coconut water and a few bites of an Attune probiotic bar. Wow, this bar was sweet! It has a decent amount of protein (5g) and fiber (3g), but I don’t think I’m too crazy about the flavor. If anyone LOVES these bars, let me know. I’ll give you my two boxes of the Strawberry flavor!

Coconut water

As I was leaving the Union Square area, I noticed these subway ads by Buitoni. As an art history major, these fine art-esque posters immediately caught my eye (and made my stomach growl!). Interesting idea…

Subway art

Around 5:30pm, I met up with Joe and Chrissy for an early dinner at Fred’s. Love this place!

Fred's Restaurant

Fred's

I was craving veggies, so I chose the Vegetarian Wrap. This sandwich contained watercress, cucumbers, carrots, zucchini, Yellow squash, green beans, roasted peppers, red onion, tomatoes & mushrooms wrapped in a spinach tortilla served with a cup of butternut squash soup. The veggies were tossed in a light tasting vinaigrette and the wrap was fresh and yummy! The soup was also good – velvety smooth and perfect for the rainy weather we’ve been having. I also had a small slice of Fred’s sour dough bread with butter. Yum!

Dinner

Nate and I met downtown to see the 8:20pm screening of Food, Inc. As I expected, it was a very thought provoking movie. Much of the material was familar as I have already read Michael Pollan’s The Omnivore’s Dilemma and Eric Schlosser’s Fast Food Nation. However, watching this movie made me very grateful for my job – I’m so lucky to have a comfortable and safe working environment. The hardships of the meat factory workers featured in the film just about broke my heart. I really enjoyed the portion of the film that featured Stonyfield Farm – love their yogurt! Despite the controversy of them selling their products in Wal-Mart, I think Stonyfield has done a great job bringing organics to the main stream. Every organic product sold in Wal-Mart still means less pesticides and chemicals on our earth. Overall, I would definitely reccommend this movie, although I think that the people likely to see it are already environmentally and food conscious. It’s kind of like preaching to the choir…

During the film, I snacked on a pack of World of Grains organic cookies. They were very crunchy with a light blueberry flavor. I liked them! I may have also snuck a bite of Nate’s Snickers bar….

Movie Snack

After the movie let out (~10pm), it had been over 4 hours since dinner and I was feeling a little hungry. Nate suggested Two Boots pizza in the West Village and off we went! I love this place. It’s called Two Boots because the pizza varieties are influences by Italy (Boot #1) and Louisiana (Boot #2).

Two Boots

The pizzas have creative names – Nate and I chose the Cleopatra Jones which came with Italian Sausage, roasted red peppers, green bell peppers, yellow bell peppers, onions, and mozzarella. SO good!! The addition of Italian sausage gave us pause (we had just seen Food, Inc), but I think you have to pick your battles. Buying local, organic food is important to me, but I’m not going to deny myself the occassional slice of sausage pizza. This slice was 100% worth it!

Pizza

We shared the first slice (25% for me, 75% for Nate) and then went back for another (50%, 50%). Enjoyed with some ice cold diet pepsi, it was the perfect Saturday night treat!

6 Responses

  1. I plan to see Food Inc this weekend but you are right that it is a little bit of preaching to the choir.

    I also really love Bare Naked Granola. I stock up on the Apple Cinnamon when I see it on sale since it can be quite expensive.

  2. Hi! Just letting you know I’ve been reading your blog for a while and appreciate all the NYC tips as I’ll be living there in the fall. :-) Hope you’re enjoying the last few hours of your Sunday!

  3. ohhh such a good weekend! last time (my first time) in NYC, i wanted to run in Central Park so bad but didn’t get to. yeah for free samples, granola, yummy pizza, Food Inc. and all that fun! glad you had such a good weekend!

  4. Hi there…I’m a recent reader to your blog but I wanted to say THANK YOU…you have such a good outlook on exercise and eating. Some of the other food bloggers come off as being all about this healthful balance, but I don’t feel their actual actions reflect it….yours do! So thanks for being normal and indulging once in a while, while still maintaining an overall healthy lifestyle. I’ll definitely keep reading your blog :)

    Also, I’m interested in those probiotic bars…mostly because I’m toying with the idea of taking a probiotic daily…so if you’re serious about wanting to get rid of them, i’ll gladly take them off your hands! I’m in St. Louis though, so if you don’t want to mail then, no biggie! My email is natalie.mclaury@gmail.com in case you want to contact me.

    Have a great day!

  5. Food Inc sounds really interesting- can’t wait to see it.

    I LOVE Bare Naked granola- the blueberry walnut peak protein is delicious. Fred’s is one of my favourite places to eat in the city, though have only been for brunch so had no idea what they served later in the day! (if you do go for brunch, the wild mushroom + goats cheese egg white omelette is amazing!)

    have a great Monday :)

  6. Yum! The wild mushroom and goat cheese omelette sounds so good. If you like places similar to Fred’s, check out Popover and Firehouse. They are nearby and also very yummy!

Leave a Reply

