Alternative Sports Medicine

Hooray for long weekends! My office closed at 1pm, so it was a short day for sure. I started off with a giant cup of coffee and two sliced kiwis (with the skin on!). Then I moved on to a plain Stonyfield yogurt mixed with 2 Tbs PB2 and 1/2 cup of Bear Naked’s new banana nut cereal. Yum!

Coffee and kiwi

PB2 yogurt

Cereal

After I left the office, I headed to my gym where I sweated out 30 minutes on the elliptical, 3 x 10 bicep curls (10lbs), military press (10lbs), bent over rows (10lbs), single leg squats, abs, and foam rolling. By this time, it was nearly 3 o’clock and I was quite hungry! Note: I didn’t finish breakfast until nearly 11am…I stopped at the Whole Foods salad bar for a little holiday weekend treat.

lunch

In the mix:

  • arugula, yellow & red bell peppers
  • scoop of potato salad (made with apple cider vinaigrette)
  • scoop of chickpea salad, tofu cubes
  • scoop of soba noodle salad
  • feta cheese

I enjoyed the salad with my new issue of Women’s Health mag and a ripe mango for dessert!

mango

At 4pm, I headed to see a new doctor about my persistent running injuries. This MD was so great! He listened to me talk about my running and my injuries, examined me, and brought out photos and diagrams to try and pin point my problem. He determined that the hamstring pain was coming from a spot where the tendon begins to turn into muscle. Since this area doesn’t receive a lot of bloodflow, it’s slow to heal when it is strained. He explained everything in such a clear and understandable manner! We decided to proceed with a procedure that is a mix of prolotherapy and trigger point injections. First, he inserted a needle into the tendon and gave me a shot of lidocaine (numbed the area). Then he injected some pitcher plant extract, which is a natural anti-inflammatory. After the injections, he used needles to slightly “bruise” and “massage” the tendon. The doc explained that this would bring blood flow to the area and speed healing. After the procedure, I tried the stretch that normally brings sharp pain and it felt fine! This may be from the lidocaine (it’s a pain killer), but I’m optimistic that this procedure will help things a bit. Once I figure out this hamstring issue, I can focus on getting my IT band to behave :-)

After being poked and prodded with needles, I needed a treat! I met Kurry near Columbus Circle and enjoyed a small chocolate Tasti D-Lite with crumbled Oreo pieces. Yum! This was perfect for this afternoon’s warm and muggy weather.

Tasti D-Lite

I arrived home around 7:30pm and bummed around a little bit. I wasn’t sure what I wanted for dinner and since I’m going away for the weekend, I didn’t want to buy or make anything elaborate. I ended up eating a mish-mosh of snacks. Kashi honey sesame TLC cracker + Cabot light cheddar, zucchini slices + 3 Tbs Sabra’s supremely spicy hummus. I was still feeling a little snack-y so I finished off the box of crackers (another serving or so). I have so much trouble preparing real dinners! After a long day, all I want to eat is pb and banana on toast. Oh well, at least today’s “dinner” was a little different than usual.

Kashis and Cabot

Zucchini and hummus

Kashi TLC's

I’m loving that it’s staying light out until nearly 9pm! After dinner, I took a nice long walk to the grocery store. When I returned, I started making Chocolate Zucchini cake. I had quite a few licks and tastes of the batter and it’s SO good. Stay tuned for the recipe :-)

9 Responses

  1. I’ve never heard of that type of procedure before,but I hope it makes you feel better!

  2. I’m so glad the new doc is helping to heal your injury!! Have a wonderful long weekend :)

  3. A law firm closing early? Haha. Just kidding.

    I’m glad that the doctor seemed to help.

  4. I love your Frida mug! Where did you find that?
    Ohhh…zucchini bread? That’s one of my faves.

  5. […] recently tried Kashi honey sesame TLC crackers and Bear Naked banana nut cereal – check out this post for […]

  6. Happened to stumble on your posts. I suggest an osteopath to make sure alignment is correct. See a physical therapist to make sure your gluts are firing. I see a lot of runners who cannot properly fire their gluteal muscles which puts extra strain on their hamstrings to achieve hip extension power. Some runners have tight quads and hip flexors which inhibit the gluts from working well (google “lower crossed syndrome”). Try using a foam roller for stretching, you can also google video these stretches for quad and hip flexors. While the musculotendinous junction is irritated, usually there is a “mechanical” issue leading to this, ie. no gluts. The clinic I work at calls this dead butt syndrome. Good Luck!

  7. […] when I chugged up hills, but other than that it was a pretty great run. I’m praying that my bizzaro injury is fading farther and farther a way. Fingers crossed! Today’s soundtrack featured a lot of […]

  8. […] been dealing with a pretty serious hamstring injury since the winter and tried nearly everything (chiropractors, acupuncture, trigger point therapy, etc) to get some relief. For the past 6 weeks or so I’ve been able to run (mostly) without […]

  9. […] think my doctor is a miracle worker. I first started seeing him about a year and a half ago for my hamstring injury. He’s an M.D., but is also trained in alternative medicine such as accupunture, cupping, […]

Leave a Reply

