Vitamin D, the natural way!

Sunday was a day full of sunshine, finally! I woke up and enjoyed a cup of coffee on the back porch. Then I moved on to a bowl of:

  • 1 cup low-fat, plain yogurt (Stonyfield Farm Organic)
  • sliced banana
  • ~1/2 cup blueberries
  • 2 Tbs peanut butter
  • 1 cup LIFE cereal

DSCF3042

After breakfast I went for a sunny walk with my mom and then came home to do a strength workout in the back yard: 3×10 push-ups, tricep dips, lunges, squats, single leg squats, calf raises, and ab work. I did my crunches and push-ups on a downhill – a little tougher than usual!

Around 2pm, I prepared a mini lunch of 2 small baked potatoes (from dinner a few nights ago) with salsa and a dab of sour cream. This was yummy, healthy, and a great way to use up leftovers.

DSCF3056

Later on in the afternoon, My sister and I went for another long walk around the neighborhood – I snacked on an Amazing Greens Super Food bar. This energy bar is packed with greens and vegetables :-) It was good – although the chocolate coating was quite sweet!

DSCF3058

Then we headed to Starbucks where I got my summetime fave – iced caramel macchiato (with skim milk). Mmm…

DSCF3059

DSCF3060

Rachel and I made kabobs for dinner – I chopped up a sweet vidalia onion and a red bell pepper.

DSCF3061

We added the veggies and (organic!) chicken marinated in BBQ sauce to wooden skewers. I told Rachel that cooking our dinner over an open flame felt very “primal”. She said “That’s why guys like grilling so much”….

DSCF3064

DSCF3065

A kabob along with some unsweetened orange iced tea and cous cous:

DSCF3067

Mom and I split another kabob – the veggies were very good!

DSCF3068

And of course, what’s a night without dessert? Before bed I enjoyed a slice of blueberry pie with some Neapolitan ice cream. I like to pronounce it Neo-pol-ishan. :-)

DSCF3075

p.s. Kiwi says hi!

DSCF3071

4 Responses

  1. Kabobs! You just gave me a great dinner idea for this week! Yay! Love the kitty pic. :)

  2. Yummy dessert! Kiwi is very cute. :)

  3. I love your kabobs!! They look so good and fun!! Glad you had a great Sunday! :-)

  4. What a lovely food night! Grilling is such a joy in the summer, so simple but delicious!

Leave a Reply

