Pressed for time

I started Tuesday in a rush – I guess I didn’t hear my alarm go off and it was 8:36am by the time I woke up! It felt great to sleep for 8 hours, but this meant I only had 54 minutes to get dressed and get to work (note: my commute is 45 minutes on a good day!). Luckily, I managed to pull myself together and make it to the office on time. Breakfast was coffee with milk, watermelon (2/3 of it is already eaten in this photo!), Kashi TLC honey almond flax granola bar, and a calcium supplement.

DSCF3084

granola bar + calcium

After my hectic morning, I could use some of these Time Saving Tips. Work was busy as I was trying to catch up from being on vacation yesterday. Around 2pm, I finally had a few minutes to grab lunch. Even though it was a hectic day I took some time to eat outside on a bench. I enjoy my food so much more when the phone isn’t ringing and people aren’t asking me questions mid-chew!

My salad mix contained:

  • mixed greens, mushrooms, onions
  • chopped orange
  • 1/3 cup white bean salad
  • feta cheese
  • dried cranberries
  • 2 Tbs balsamic vinaigrette
  • croutons

DSCF3085

Before the gym, I snacked on a Kashi TLC granola bar – I’m going to turn in to a granola bar!

Kashi Crunchy

During Saturday’s race, I experienced some slippage with my IT band strap. I recently heard about KT Tape (which was used during the Beijing Olympics) and decided to give it a try. I wore this tape for about 18 hours (while sleeping, running, etc.) and it held up pretty well. It supported my IT band just as well as the strap and it didn’t get too sweaty. The package instructions say that you can wear the tape for 4-5 days, but personally I don’t think it would last that long. Nevertheless, it’s a great option for warmer weather and can be used to treat many injuries: tennis elbow, runner’s knee, shin splints, etc. The website has specific taping instructions for various injuries – check it out!

DSCF3083

DSCF3082

After a slow (but mostly pain free) 3 mile run at the gym, I foam-rolled, stretched, and then met Agnes for dinner. We went to one of my favorite places in Greenwich Village – Cafe Asean!

DSCF3099

DSCF3101

I ordered the Mee Rojak which was a base of egg noodles topped with carrots, cucumber, bean sprouts, tomato, hardboiled egg, and tofu with a delicious peanut-lime sauce. This was a little bit sweet and a little bit spicy. So good!

DSCF3098

Once I arrived back uptown, I stopped at Fine Fare Supermarket (Edy’s ice cream is only $2.74 this week!) for some slow-churned goodness. I had the bowl pictured below…plus a lot a little more straight from the carton!

DSCF3102

5 Responses

  1. I’ve been curious about the tape, I know the husband and I were intrigued by it during the Olympics….fortunately I’ve been injury free all year (with the exception of a tight hammy for a week).

    I love my some Edy’s (it’s Dreyer’s here on the West Coast) slow churned…I know it’s not the greatest thing for me but it sure beats the alternative when that sweet tooth kicks in and it tastes soooo good.

  2. I was wondering about that tape and I’m glad it’s working well for you! You can check out kinesiotaping videos on RunnersWorld.com too!

  3. OMG! I live right next door (virtually) to Cafe Asean! My boyfriend and I go there ALL THE TIME! It’s kind of problematic :) I adore your blog, I used to have one but now spend my time reading them. Your running in inspiring, I’m planning on running the 2010 NYC Marathon! :)
    Sara

  4. ohhh i need to find that tape – i had not heard of it, but training for this marathon, i don’t want to mess up my knees (they are slightly fragil). where did you get it?

  5. i found the tape at dick’s sporting goods, but i think you can buy it online. i think it works pretty well!

Leave a Reply

