Sweat.It.Out.

Check out this article from the LA TimesWhat We Eat When We Eat Alone by Deborah Madison. Obviously, my go-to home alone meal is pb & banana on toasted bread!

Wednesday morning started off with the usual coffee, plain Oikos greek yogurt, a big pile of strawberries, and about 1/2 cup of Bare Naked banana nut cereal. The cereal is a very interesting mix of wheat flakes, dried apple, banana chips, and oat pieces. It’s pretty good, but I think I like Bare Naked granola better.

DSCF3103

Lunch was a lovely salad from the cafeteria – mixed greens, red onion, mushrooms, shredded carrot, tomato, zucchini in pesto sauce, kidney beans, hummus, feta cheese, pita chips, and some balsamic vinaigrette. Holy yum!

DSCF3105

DSCF3106

During my lunch break, I headed to the grocery store to use a coupon for free FiberOne yogurt. The yogurts have 80 calories each and 5 grams of fiber, so they seemed like a good find. However after I bought the pack, I looked at the ingredients: aspartame, high fructose corn syrup, modified corn starch, potassium sorbate. Umm…no thanks! I actually ended up returning the yogurt. Lesson learned: Just because something seems “healthy”, doesn’t mean you should eat it! To satisfy my sweet tooth, my afternoon snack was 1/3 bar of organic dark chocolate with sea salt and caramel.

DSCF3107

Before yoga class, I had 1/2 peanut butter think thin protein bar that was hanging out in my desk drawer. These bars are just ok, you can definitely taste the sugar alcohols and I don’t think I’ll be buying it again!

DSCF3108

I met Katie for a hot power yoga class at 6pm. I love this class! I always feel so de-toxed and limber after its over. Of course, it also leaves me a sweaty mess! I headed to my gym to shower, but my tummy seriously needed some food ASAP. I re-fueled with some watermelon…while checking my BlackBerry. They don’t call it the “CrackBerry” for nothing…

DSCF3109

Dinner was late and quick – OJ, toasted hemp bagel, peanut butter, banana, and honey. Such a delicious and reliable combo! The banana slices are pretty haphazzard – I was starving and could not wait to eat. No time for food styling!

DSCF3111

Dinner was another bowl of Edy’s slow churned French Silk. One of Nate’s Chips Ahoy! cookies also may have hopped into the bowl. As I was chowing down he said “If only your blog readers could see you now…” Hehe, I keep no secrets. I’m very open about my love of ice cream :-)

DSCF3102

Check out this article about label-reading from Runner’s World.

Question: Have you ever bought a “healthy” sounding product only to read the label and discover otherwise?

11 Responses

  1. Glad to know I’m not the only one that gets the ‘if your readers could see you now’ comment. Or I get ‘are you going to take a picture of THAT?’ haha gotta love it! (and french silk ice cream!)

  2. Yes, all the time. In fact, it seems like the majority of the stuff that advertises itself as “healthy” is basically synthetic crap. There is nothing wrong w/ice cream. All things in moderation!

  3. I am with Mrs. Myers – I feel like the vast majority of foods that are LABELED as “healthy” are not – if they truly were health foods, it would be a “duh” moment and every man woman and child would know they are healthy… like fruits and veggies! They don’t have to advertise…

    PS, if you are interested, I’m having a Holey Donuts giveaway until next Wednesday :)

  4. I feel like every time I make an impulse buy, I get home and start realizing how unhealthy what I bought actually is. I think the last thing was those deli-thins all over the blog world. Ok, they aren’t really that unhealthy at all, but they do surprisingly have sucralose, and I’ve been trying to get rid of artificial sweeteners altogether. Sucralose is the safetest of the artificial sweeteners, so I didn’t really mind keeping them around and eating them, but I’d feel silly buying them again knowing TJ english muffins are cheaper and better for me.

  5. I just wrote about something like this in my most recent post. I bought hummus and checked the ingredients this morning and found that it contained HFCS!! I don’t understand why it needs to have that in it! It made me really mad!

    http://roseyrebecca.wordpress.com/

  6. That’s happened to me a lot! Have you ever tried to buy “light” 100% whole wheat bread from one of the mainstream brands? It sounds very healthy, but I took a look at the ingredients list and it was like a mile long with not one word I could pronounce.

    http://bananasnbrats.wordpress.com/

  7. Have you read Michael Pollen at all? I just finished his latest book “In Defense of Food.” “If it has a health claim, don’t eat it” is one of his guidelines. Your yogurt story is a good example of that principle!

    Jesse

  8. Jesse – I have read Michael Pollan’s The Omnivore’s Dillemma – great book! Don’t eat anything your great-grandmother wouldn’t recognize :-)

    Evan and Kelly – I agree with the comments about “light bread”. I feel like bread should only contain flour, water, salt, and yeast. All of those other scary preservatives and additives freak me out.

  9. Lesson learned: Just because something seems “healthy”, doesn’t mean you should eat it!

    I couldn’t have said it better myself! Unless its ice crea, because that is always worth eating :)

  10. Meg- Once you get through all your samples, I’d suggest giving making your own granola a try some time. It’s really easy to make and customize, and you probably already have the ingredients necessary. There’s a good recipe here: http://bakingbites.com/2009/04/coconut-almond-granola/
    I used pecans and walnuts instead of the almonds suggested, and split the maple syrup between that and honey, but it was a cinch to make, and stores really well!

  11. Yes to homemade granola! It sounds like a pain in the ass, but a half hour in the kitchen can save you mega $ and yield some delicious cereal.

    …And what’s a better way to detox from pseudo-health foods than hot yoga? Thanks again for giving me the heads up about that class, and being a very sweaty date.

Leave a Reply

