China Wine

My Friday started and ended well, but unfortunately the middle part of the day was consumed by a very nasty migraine headache. I started off my morning with the usual coffee, banana, greek yogurt, and a cinnamon raisin Gnu fiber bar (sent to me by the lovely ladies at Skinny and the City!).

banana and yogurt

Gnu fiber bar

I had a busy, but productive morning at work, but around noon I started seeing spots in front of my eyes. I thought I had been staring at my computer screen for too long, so I took a walk to the ladies room. The visual disturbances kept getting worse and I nearly passed out on my way back to my desk, ugh. After about 20 minutes, I started to get a really bad headache. Hello, migraine! I haven’t had one of these in nearly 2 years and I’ve never had one with visual disturbances. It was really scary! Luckily, Nate came to my office and took me home. I took some pain meds and slept from about 2:30pm until 6pm. I still felt funny when I woke up, but at least the worst of the pain had subsided. Luckily, I had taken photos of my lunch the night before while I was packing it up. Eventhough I was not feeling hungry, I forced my self to eat something so that the medicine wouldn’t be working on an empty tummy. Lunch was watermelon, pretzels, and a salad of mixed greens, sliced strawberries, 3 Tbs spicy hummus, 1/2 cup 1% cottage cheese, and a few Scandinavian crisp breads (5g of fiber in each cracker!).

DSCF3084

pretzels

Salad + Flowers

yummy salad

After my nap I took a refreshing shower and drank a big glass of water along with an Olympic Granola bar. Oh my goodness! This was amazing. I had the chocolate-peanut flavor and it was perfectly chewy, crumbly, sweet, and satisfying. I’ll review some other varieties soon – each bar has 390 cals, 10 grams of protein, and 7 grams of fiber. All from natural ingredients!

Olympic granola

My headache had subsided enough at this point that I decided I was going to follow through with my plans to meet friends for dinner. Around 8:30pm a big crew (seriously, there was about 15 of us!) met up at the infamous UWS location affectionately called “China Wine”. The actual name of this place is Silk China Road, but the cheap prices and free boxed wine has earned it an alternate misnomer. Going here with a big crew is always a production and the wait is usually an hour +. Fortunately we were all seated and happily chowing down on food by 9:30pm. I had a few sips of white wine, a fried wonton noodle with dipping sauce, and steamed chicken and broccoli with garlic sauce on the side. For such a “hole in the wall” restaurant, this dish is actually really tasty! I love the little pieces of ginger that are steamed alongside the chicken and broc, yum! This probably wasn’t the best thing to eat after a migraine episode (ummm, MSGs + wine), but luckily I had studied up on the healthiest chinese food options and made some good menu decisions. And of course, I’m glad I was able to meet up with my former college friends/teammates!

Lonely wonton

chicken-and-broccoli

garlic sauce

China wine gourmet

Nate and Moss

Contemplating the menu

The table

Free wine for all

My night may have ended with another bowl of Edy’s slow-churned French Silk ice cream :-)

2 Responses

  1. My migraines always start with seeing spots. I used to get them in high school right in the middle of taking tests! It was the worst!! Now, as soon as I start to see spots, I get up immediately and take medicine and it usually stops the migraine from getting any worse!

    Glad you had fun at dinner!!

    http://roseyrebecca.wordpress.com/

  2. no fun on the migraine, but i am glad you feel better. i get glazed over and headachy from being on the computer all day too…ugh, that is the worst.

    i haven’t tried those gnu bars…do you like them? hope you had a good rest of your weekend!

Leave a Reply

