Yoga makes me hungry!

Happy Friday! I’m so glad it’s almost the weekend – after a series of 4-day weeks, this week seemed to go by so s-l-o-w-l-y. I started off yesterday morning with my usual coffee, 1 cup plain low-fat Stonyfield yogurt, mini box of raisins, 1/2 banana, and 3/4 cup of Heritage Grains Wheat Flakes.

yogurt and cereal

Alma and I had made plans for a lunch-time run in the park, but in light of my treatments at Wednesday’s visit to the sports medicine doc, we decided to up for a walk instead. I walked from my office building to Central Park, walked with Alma for about 35 minutes, and then headed back to my desk. It was nice to take a mid day break!

When I returned, I enjoyed some of my organic farmer’s market broccoli with 2 tbs white bean hummus and an almond butter and banana sandwich on hemp bread. Yum! Lots filling fiber in this lunch :-)

broccoli and hummus

pb & b sandwich

I had some work assignments that were making me a little cranky, so I decided to take a mental break around 4pm. I enjoyed an iced coffee with milk and cinnamon, 1/4 cup of Nuts about Raspberries and Chocolate trail mix, and a few squares of dark chocolate. Ahh! Much better :-)

iced coffee

DSCF3107

After work I treated myself to a much-needed pedicure – yay! Then around 7pm I snacked on an apple as I hopped on the subway to head downtown.

pedicure

apple

At 7:30pm I met a super-stud, who shall remain nameless, for his very first yoga class! The yoga to the people studio at St. Mark’s Place is un-air conditioned and holy moly! it was hot. Not quite as hot as “hot yoga” but pretty close. I was dripping in sweat the whole time.

After 60 minutes of power vinyasa flow, super-stud and I headed next door to Mamoun’s Falafel.

mamoun's

Ahh! I love this place! There are two locations in NYC and one in New Haven. There used to be a shop in Middletown (near Wesleyan University), but it closed down my Sophomore year. I ordered the falafel sandwhich: fried chickpeas, lettuce, tomato, onion, and tahini in a 1/2 pita bread. I added a little of Mamoun’s special hot sauce and hot damn….that stuff set my mouth on fire! I was gulping water and diet coke like there was no tomorrow. That stuff is serious. Look at me chowing down! I guess yoga makes me hungry…

falafel

chowing down

My mystery date for the evening order the lamb kafka sandwich. He was very impressed with the taste and quantity of the the meat!

lamb kafka

After din-din, I needed a little something cold to put out the fire in my mouth. Luckily, I spotted a new fro-yo shop nearby! I got a big paper cup and was able to create my own dessert: non-fat peanut butter and cake batter fro yo topped with super-healthy (Hah! just kidding) oreos, sprinkles, and chocolate morsels. With two spoons for sharing :-)

35 cents

froyo

When we got home I had a much needed shower and enjoyed a few Annie’s graham bunnies for a midnight snack.

Freebie Alert! Next Tuesday (July 21) you can use this coupon to snag a FREE pastry from Starbucks when you purchase any beverage. The ‘Bucks just re-formulated their menu and the new recipes now contain:

  • No artificial flavors
  • No artificial trans fats
  • No artificial dyes
  • No high-fructose corn syrup
  • Yay!

    Question: Do you have a favorite fancy coffee drink? Mine is a tall, skim, iced caramel macchiato!

    14 Responses

    1. I love love love Yoga to the People yoga studio. It truly makes doing yoga on a student’s budget possible! Oh, and Mamoun’s is kind of AMAZING as well! I love St Marks Street!

    2. I usually just get a grande, nonfat, sugar free iced vanilla latte. Although Danica @ Danica’s Daily is always getting an iced latte with just a drizzle of caramel and I think I might have to try that.

    3. Do you have any other yoga studios you love? I have a yoga pass book which gives me 2 free classes to many studios in manhattan and I never know which ones to go to! Yoga to the People is not in the book :( On Wednesday I went to a class at Ohm Factory and really liked it!

    4. I love noon time walks :) Always nice to get some fresh air when we’re trapped in an office all day.
      Surprisingly, I never acquired a taste for coffee. I feel like such a little kid cause I can’t drink coffee like all the cool grown ups! But I DO love coffee ice cream!

    5. Nutrition By Eve – I’ve only ever been to yoga class at my gym (Equinox) and Yoga to the People. But I hear Yoga Works is pretty good. Perhaps you could give that studio a try! :-)

    6. I’ve gone there and blogged about it also! Check it out here: http://sherunsbrooklyn.wordpress.com/2009/06/09/mutiny-in-the-form-of-yoga/

      Maybe we can do a bloggers meetup and go together??! :) Could be a cool deal.

      P.S. check out my product review today incase you ever thought of buying these running headphones.. my advice: stay away.

    7. Ooh my favorite fancy coffee drink is a tall iced “skinny” vanilla latte – so perfect on hot summer days!

      That Mamouns places looks brilliant!! What a cutie pie you are…

      Also – nice pedicure! I need to get me one of thems so badly!!

    8. @ Starbucks iced coffee + soymilk is my favorite, as boring as that is.

      @ anywhere two shots of espresso over ice with splashes of whole milk

    9. grande skim caramel machiatto always hits the spot for me. why is nate remaining nameless? i’m confused. and now he is named.

    10. I’m with you on the iced non-fat caramel macchiato! But I also love sugar free vanilla starbucks iced coffee wtih skim mi;lk. Yum!

      http://roseyrebecca.wordpress.com/

    11. I’m with Jen. Keeping the Nate nameless is just going to confuse people. When I read that you went to yoga with a super stud, I was like “I don’t remember going to yoga with Megan.” :-)
      And my fave coffee drink is super boring. Tall Coffee Frap with whipped cream that I suck off the top before I start drinking.

    12. Thanks for sharing the coupon with us! :)

    13. nutritionbyeve-
      yoga to the people yoga studio is a donation based studio so the classes are free and you can leave however big of a donation you like at the end of the class, therefore a pass is not needed at YTTP. Because I go so often during the school year and I’m living off of a student budget, I tend to only give $3-$8/session but whatever you end up donating, it’s a really good deal and find!

    14. Good Read! Hey, did you know this blog is catalogued by Google news?I just checked your backlinks and seen it…demand to!lol.

    Leave a Reply

