Water Moon

I had a little too much fun this weekend and didn’t spend a lot of time blogging, but I guess late is better than never! My Saturday morning started with a lovely yogurt “mess”. I love eating the last portion of yogurt from the tub – it’s so much more fun than using a bowl :-)

My yogurt mix contained:

  • 1 cup low-fat, plain yogurt
  • 1 sliced banana
  • 3/4 cup Nature’s Path Heritage Grain flakes
  • 1 Tb almond butter and 1 Tb strawberry jam (drizzled on top)
  • 1 Tb PB2 (mixed in the yogurt)

DSCF3270

It tasted kind of like a PB & J! After my tummy was full and happy, Nate and I set off for the Farmer’s Market. I came home with quite the haul: beets (plus beet greens!) , radishes, zucchini, and lots of apples.

DSCF3271

The walk to and from the Farmer’s Market is about 2 miles roundtrip – I did some bicep curls and tricep dips with the heavy bags to get a little strength training in :-) When we got home, I sliced up one of my new apples and slathered it with 2-3 Tbs of almond butter.

apple and almond butter

Around 3pm, I met Alma to see the new Harry Potter movie. I’m not a huge HP fan (only read the first couple of books), but I really enjoyed the movie. I thought the special effects were great! My movie snacks were an ice cold diet coke and some Newman’s Own Organics chocolate alphabet cookies. Not the most nutritious choice, but at least the cookies were organic!

alphabet cookies

Nate and I had a gift certificate for an asian fusion place called Water Moon and we’ve been planning on going for awhile. We arrived around 7pm and were seated right away. The restaurant had a bar in the front of the restaurant and a very large seated section. It was a little warm (i.e. un-air conditioned) inside, but I didn’t really mind because the food and service were so good.

Water Moon

Water Moon

I started off with a green tea sangria – white wine, unsweetened green tea, and fruit slices. Yum!

Green Tea Sangria

Nate and I shared two appetizers – I chose the Vietnamese summer rolls (mango, avocado, and shrimp in rice paper) and Nate chose the Rock and Roll (salmon and chicken sushi, I think!). I really liked my summer rolls – they were very light and flavorful.

Summer rolls

Rock & Roll

For my entree, I chose the steamed vegetables and tofu. I ordered brown rice and garlic sauce alongside. This dish may seem boring, but the array of veggies was fantastic! All of the onions, mushrooms, red pepper, broccoli, zucchini, etc. made me one happy girl! I’m not a huge rice fan, so I didn’t eat much of that, but I devoured 90% of the veggies and tofu :-)

Steamed tofu & veggies

Brown rice

Garlic Sauce

Nate ordered the wild salmon and veggies  and was very pleased. He gave me a little taste and I think the sauce citrus and ginger in it – yum!

Wild salmon

The weather was p-e-r-f-e-c-t on Saturday evening. Nate and I took advantage of the balmy night and walked for awhile after we finished dinner.

I may have ended the night with a cone of Edy’s mint chocolate chip. This is becoming a daily habit…..

mint chip

Question: Do you have any daily “habits” i.e. coffee in the morning, ice cream after dinner, or an evening walk?

8 Responses

  1. In college, Joe and I discussed the nutritional value of eating a cone of mint chocolate chip ice cream. Veggies: mint; dairy: cream in the ice cream; starch: cone, chocolate pieces, sugar itself; protein: milk has protein, and fats: it’s ice cream.

    O and now my daily habit is drinking a cup of coffee in the car on my way to the hospital. It had caramel syrup and milk in it.

  2. OMG I live VERY close to Water Moon and have gone there multiple times! I have ordered that salmon dish and loved it. If you think their sushi is good, you MUST try Tenzan (on 74th and Columbus) because they have the BEST sushi on the Upper West Side (and perhaps in the whole city!).

  3. My daily ritual is decaf w/soy in the morning. Simple, but i love it. i also really love cereal in the evening. Not a good late night snack, but I so do enjoy it.

  4. My ritual is to always run first thing in the morning. And I pretty much always have an english muffin with PB or oatmeal with PB after dinner, but that’s not so much a ritual as a I really like those things thing

  5. I have a stash of all different kinds of dark chocolate in my fridge. I have to eat some every day!

    I also have to have coffee or tea every morning.

    http://roseyrebecca.wordpress.com/

  6. If I have it in the house then I will always have a square (or 3) of Cadbury’s Dairy Milk (my fave English chocolate) after dinner.
    I also pretty much always have at least one cup of tea everyday.

    Graham Cracker ice cream sounds incredible by the way…but I do love the mint choc chip myself!

  7. I’ve been wanting to go there! The summer rolls look great!

  8. I’ve been wanting to go there! The summer rolls look great!
    P.S. – Sorry, forgot to tell you great post!

Leave a Reply

