Dogmatic and The Van Leeuwen Ice Cream Truck

I woke up Friday morning to downpours of rain. Strangely, by the time I made it to Columbus Circle the sun was peaking out. It was a nice surprise! I did some early morning errands and then headed to the office. Brekkie was the usual coffee, cherries, Fage 2%, and 3/4 cup Kashi Go Lean Crunch. Mmm, fiber and protein make me a happy lady!

Fage, Cherries, Kashi

Around 1:30pm I broke for lunch and picked up my usual salad from the cafeteria.

  • romaine, spinach, carrots, onions, mushrooms
  • 1/4 cup kidney beans, feta, whole grain croutons
  • Tastes of yucca with butter-garlic sauce (delish!), salmon nicoise, fresh mozz & tomato, and grilled squash
  • 2 Tbs balsamic vinaigrette

Salad

I took a little walk in the sunshine after I ate and I’m glad I did – it poured for the rest of the afternoon! When I got back to my desk, I tried a chocolite chocolate that the girls at Skinny and the City sent over to me. Each piece has 40 calories and 6 grams of fiber (whoa!). It was OK, but it tasted more like whey protein than a peanut butter cup. I think I’d rather have a Reese’s!

Chocolite

Around 4:30pm I could feel another headache coming on (go away headaches!!!), so I made myself a cup of milky tea, popped 2 advils, and enjoyed a couple of Newman’s Own Organics cinnamon hermits. Yum! I think I like these even better than the molasses flavor.

Hermits and Tea

After dropping off the apartment deposit at the broker’s office, I headed to my gym for a solid gym session. I pedaled away on the elliptical for 60 minutes (threw in a couple of fast intervals) and finished up with lunges, calf raises, push-ups, and foam rolling. After I was finished, I snacked on some sliced zucchini to hold me over until dinner.

Zucchini

If you read the foodie blog Serious Eats, you know that gourmet hot dogs are all the rage. Enter: Dogmatic Gourmet Sausage System. You gotta love (or at least be intrigued) by a place with a name like that! This little shop is located near Union Square and has a very industrial atmoshphere. The high ceilings featured exposed pipes and the table and benches were of a very modern, utilitarian design.

Dogmatic

Dogmatic

Dogmatic menu

Mitch, Nate, and I met up at Dogmatic last night to sample the eats. Each sausage selection is nestled in a toasted baguette and comes with your choice of gourmet sauce. I chose the asparagus “sausage” – organic, roasted asparagus with truffle gruyere cheese inside a baguette. Yum! This sandwich was very salty and savory – it was delicious!

Megan and Mitch

Asparagus

And I liked that the menu featured a vegetarian option. Nate chose the lamb sausage with chimmichurri sauce and I think he enjoyed it very much. Nate and I also split a homemade lemon-lime soda. I could definitely taste the citrus flavors in this drink – it blew Sprite out of the water! I also tried Mitch’s ginger soda and it had a very pleasant taste – very different from ginger-ale and more like ginger candy. The best part about Dogmatic? All of the beef is grass-fed, the poultry is free range, the asparagus is organic, and the baugettes are made locally every day! Definitely a winner in my book.

Homemade soda

Our sandwiches were yummy, but not very large. Soon after finishing dinner we were on the prowl for dessert. The boys chose cupcakes from Crumbs Bakery, but I had my heart set on ice cream (of course!).  I recently read a New York Times article about the Van Leeuwen ice cream truck and since it was only a few blocks away, I knew I had to seek it out. The Van Leeuwen ice cream truck is not cheap, but the quality is ahhhmazing. I chose a small dish – half hazelnut and half gianduia. Yum! I had burned my tongue a little bit on the hot gruyere cheese in my sandwich, so this was very soothing and refreshing.

Van Leeuwen

Van Leeuwen ice cream

After our sweet tooths were satisfied, the three of us headed over to a nearby bar and split a pitcher of Sierra Nevada Pale Ale. I probably only had 8-12 oz of beer, but I was one sleepy girl on the subway ride home. I definitely took a solid 30 minute nap as we made our way uptown. Luckily Nate kept on eye on my bag and protected me from the sketch homeless men that frequent the 1 train. Thanks dude!

Looking for a good beer to enjoy on a hot night? Check out the Best brews for summer.

And in case you’re counting calories – 10 ways to work off that happy hour beer.

Question: What’s your favorite month of the year? I can’t believe it’s August already!

Have a great weekend!

4 Responses

  1. I’ve been wanting to try the Dogmatic for awhile now, I’m glad you enjoyed it! I have gotten ice cream from the Van Leeuwen truck before and, to be honest, I wasn’t entirely thrilled by it. I felt it was good, just not great;) I like that they are so environmentally conscious though! Have a great weekend and I hope your headaches subside:)

  2. That sausage place sounds brilliant!! I approve of the ice cream over cupcakes choice too – it’s summer!

    My favorite month is probably June. Summer is my favorite season and June is just full of anticipation for what’s to come, the weather’s heating up but not too much, and the whole summer is ahead of you. Sigh that it’s August: ugh.

    Have a lovely weekend dear!

  3. Awh, rain… I miss it so much. It’s been over 100 degrees for the past couple months! Enjoy the cool weather for me :)

  4. 5 think I like March cause that’s when my birthday is
    And I love those hermits with a cup of coffee. Thanks for tipping me off to them.

Leave a Reply

