When the moon hits your eye…

I was in total weekend mode until Monday morning and the work week really snuck up on me! I started the day with another cup of Starbucks Gazebo blend (mmm…).

Coffee beans

Later on in the morning I enjoyed a cherry Fage 2% yogurt, olive oil granola, and an apple.

Breakfast

My mid-morning snack was a cup of herbal tea and some prunes. Grandma alert! I’m such an old lady :-)

Prunes

I ventured outside around 1 pm to do some errands – and there was plentiful sunshine, yay! I came back to my desk and polished off a big container of juicy cantaloupe (with some random banana slices thrown in). I didn’t get hungry for my sandwich until after 3pm – crazy late! When I finally broke out my almond butter and banana sammie on hemp bread, I was more than hungry. It was delish! I loved the contrast of the hearty bread, sweet banana, and salty almond butter.

Cantaloupe

pb & b sandwich

Afternoon snack was a few squares of Newman’s Own Organics dark chocolate. Antioxidants!

dark chocolate

Right after work Alma and I signed the lease on our new apartment. Ahh! Scary and exciting. Afterwards, I headed to the gym for a brief workout. My IT band was very tight after yesterday’s long effort, so I didn’t want to go too hard. I started with 10 minutes on the rowing machine, followed up  by 3 x 10 lunges, calf raises, push-ups, ab work, and foam rolling. Short and sweet! I’ve found that a 20 minute workout is better than none at all :-)

Today was Nate’s last day of work (he’s headed to Law School in a few weeks), so a celebration was in order! We headed to a place called PIE  (you order and pay for pizza by the pound). It had a very chill atmosphere, but the best part was that we made it in time for happy hour!

PIE

I enjoyed a Blue Moon beer with a slice of greek salad pizza (salad on top of pizza crust + sauce) and a slice of tomato, mozzarella, and basil. The crust was super thin and crispy, yum!

Pizza

Pizza PIE

Nate started off with Brooklyn Summer Ale and a slice of sausage pizza. Then he moved on to a Peak Organic Pale Ale and a slice of rosemary potato chip pizza. Potato chip pizza?? Yes! I tried a bite and while I would normally pass on a combo like this, it was amazing! The thin crust was covered with mozzarella and ricotta cheese, fresh rosemary, and a few slices of kettle cooked potato chips. I loved the strong rosemary flavor – you could tell that quality ingredients were used. Hehe, I thought the contrast of our choices was funny – salad and veggie pizza for me, sausage and potato chip pizza for Nate. I would highly recommend PIE – it’s not traditional NYC style pizza, but it IS delicious :-)

Nate

Sausage pizza

Potato chip pizza

beers

Dessert was mint chocolate chip ice cream in a cone and two chocolate Newman O’s. The Newman O’s were ok, but not my favorite. Maybe they just didn’t go well with the mint chip flavor of the ice cream, but I thought they tasted a little “off”. Too dry, maybe?

ice cream, of course

Newman-O's

Question: What is your fav type of pizza? Chicago Deep Dish? New York thin crust? Vegan? Pita piza?

Garlic for a healthy heart?

For your next vacation: A bikini friendly mini bar

12 Responses

  1. Hm, I haven’t tried the Newman-Os yet, but I imagine the Chocolate is pretty intense! I have the original flavor sitting in my cabinet, just waiting to be enjoyed. I actually had two Fig Newmans last night and really enjoyed them!

  2. I’m *supposed* to like deep-dish (family thing.. ugh) but thin-crust is my favorite! I love love love thin crust pizza with tomato sauce, tons of veggies, and crumbled goat cheese. Delish!!!

    http://runningstronger.wordpress.com/

  3. I just wanted to send out a thank you to you. You turned me on to Skinny and The City. I love it.

    I actually like a happy medium between thin crust and deep dish, but when I make it my myself I usually do thin crust. I made deep dish once and it was too much.

  4. yum! that’s how they sell pizza in rome. and there’s a new location on the UES – now there’s no excuse not to try it! :) are you staying in the same neighborhood next year? apartment hunting is NO FUN (i’m doing it now)…congrats on finding a place!

  5. I love a real traditional margharita–thin crust, herby sauce, and light on cheese with whole basil leaves. Besides that, I had a pizza with goat cheese, black mission figs, and vin cotta that was crazy good. I might have to try potato chip pizza though haha

  6. I rarely get it, and now that I’m vegan I will have to find an alternative, but definitely Chicago style deep-dish over NY style thin crust any day!!!!

    Love the simple pizza margherita style with basils and tomato, YUM!

  7. Potato chip pizza?! Haha. Amazing.
    The Greek salad on pizza option sounds like a winner!

    My fave pizza is the thin crust new york/Italian style – LOVE IT. My hub’s pizza joint (where he chefs) makes an amazing veggie pesto pizza – it’s so good!

  8. That pizza place looks awesome!! I need to check that out the next time I’m in the city!! I love thin crust pizza but I also love very doughy pizza. I don’t think any other pizza really compares to NY pizza :-) As far as toppings, I love veggies and garlic! Yum! Now I want pizza!

  9. I love all pizza, but one of my favorite is when you make your own dough in a breadmachine and make it youself! You’re totally in control! :)

    http://ncl117.blogspot.com

  10. Actually born and raised in the Missouri MidWest so my favorite style pizza is St. Louis style! Super thin and crispy crust, sliced in small squares…yum! LOVE MY IMO’S!!

  11. Wow. That really does look like awesome pizza. I know it’s unsophisticated, but my favorite pizza is Round Table. Hands down!
    Thank you for visiting my blog! Can’t wait to take a look around yours :)

  12. yay for nate starting law school – good luck to him!

    love ya fellow g’ma :)

Leave a Reply

