Chicken Apple Basil Salad

Wednesday a.m. update: Just went for my first run in nearly two weeks!! Felt ok, no pain, but a little tight. After so many monthes of injury I am just so NERVOUS about my leg. For the first few minutes that I was running I just kept saying to my hamstring/IT band “please don’t hurt…please don’t hurt”. I ran for 20 minutes, walked for 10, and then stretched/foam rolled. Going for a check with the doc this evening. Stay tuned!

Rewind to Tuesday…Breakfast was a banana, Fage 2% greek yogurt, and a Nature Valley peanut butter granola bar. I’ve gotten into the bad habit of eating breakfast very late (after 10:30am!). I know that I shouldn’t wait 3 hours after waking up to eat, but my stomach always feels a little off in the morning…Maybe I’ll have to experiment with a liquid breakfast!

Breakfast

granola bar

I be-bopped over to the gym (word inspiration from Holly!) and pedaled away for 45 minutes on the elliptical. After a little bit o’ stretching, it was time for food! After a few days off from the office cafe, I was finally able to have my favorite salad again!

  • romaine, mixed greens, red onion, mushroom, carrots
  • 1/4 cup chickpeas
  • 1/4 cup feta cheese
  • Tbs balsamic vinaigrette
  • whole grain croutons
  • bit of mixed grain and dried cranberry salad
  • bit roasted eggplant

Salad

My afternoon was go-go-go, so my 4pm snack ended up being a luna bar. I try not to have two bars in one day (had that granola bar for brekkie), but sometimes it happens. Mmm, I love cookies and cream lunabars!

luna bar

After work I power-walked to the library (seriously…it closed at 6pm and I didn’t leave my office until 5:42pm) and picked up a book that was on reserve. Mission accomplished! Then I headed on over to Whole Foods to pick up some dinner ingredients. I picked up a lot of goodies, but luckily due to my love for coupons and sales the wallet damage wasn’t too bad! Check out the new Whole Foods money saving flyer!

Groceries

  • 1 lb organic chicken breast
  • 1 Oikos greek yogurt, 2 Fage greek yogurts
  • 2 lbs cherries
  • large bunch of basil
  • bunch of chives
  • 2 Granny Smith apples
  • 2 limes
  • ball of locally-made fresh mozzarella (swoon…)
  • loaf of organic “seeduction” bread
  • 2 lara bars

Nate selected tonight’s dinner creation – Chicken Apple Basil Salad! The dish was based on a Real Simple recipe, but obviously I had to make some tweaks!

Ingredients

  • 1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breast
  • 2 Granny Smith apples, diced
  • 1 small bunch chives, finely sliced
  • 1 small bunch basil, roughly chopped
  • Juice of two small limes
  • 2 Tbs brown sugar
  • 1 Tbs rice vinegar
  • 4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper

Directions

  • Place chicken in shallow pan, add water until chicken is just covered
  • Add 3 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp pepper and simmer chicken until no pink remains (~8 minutes)
  • Meanwhile combine lime juice, brown sugar, vinegar, remaining salt, and pepper in a bowl
  • Add apples and chives to lime juice mixture
  • After chicken is done cooking, add to bowl of ice water for 5 minutes, once cool, pat dry and cube
  • Add chicken and basil to the rest of the ingredients
  • Refrigerate for about 20 minutes and then enjoy!

Chicken Apple Basil Salad

I had two big bowls of this! Nate remarked that it seemed like very “clean-burning fuel” for the body. The lean proteins, veggies, fruits, and antioxidant-rich herbs are great fuel for summer running!

Basil Apple Chicken Salad

On the side I enjoyed two slices of Whole Foods organic “seeduction” bread with buttah. Fresh bread + buttah = nothin’ better :-)

Seeduction bread

Bread with buttah

For dessert I had a piece of leftover cake (from Saturday’s party!) – dark chocolate cake with coconut icing. Mmmm….I gave Nate a few bites, but I mostly tackled the whole piece solo. I love cake!

cake!

It’s going to hit 90 degrees in NYC today, check out these tips on staying hydrated!

Question: What’s your favorite tip for staying cool while exercising in the heat? I’ve been known to split long runs – half outside in the heat, half inside on a treadmill.

17 Responses

  1. Good luck at the doc!

  2. I love coconut – that cake looks amazing. And congrats on the run!

    I’ve used the 1/2 treadmill trick before. My other tricks aren’t very stellar: run early and run in as little clothing as you can get away with (sports bra and short shorts, anyone?). And I find that bringing cold water can keep me going for longer when it gets hot out. Oh, and I wear a headband to keep sweaty hair away from my face. There. My tips.

  3. The cake looks so good!! Glad you got a run in!! I hope your legs feel ok!

    I’m having a great giveaway on my blog! Check it out:

    http://roseyrebecca.wordpress.com/2009/08/04/saratoga-salsa-spice-company-giveaway/

  4. I’m glad you had a good run! Yay!

  5. That salad looks so good and fresh! I usually don’t do anything fancy to stay hydrated. I just drink a ridiculous amount all throughout the day and I think it works pretty well for me. I’m too lazy to bring a water bottle with me when I run!
    firednfabulous.blogspot.com

  6. That cake looks delicious!

  7. That chicken salad looks perfect for the hot weather! Why can’t the Whole Foods in NYC stock the new Larabar flavors yet??

    My tip for staying hydrating while running is to ensure their are water fountains along your route, such as along the park drive in Central Park, and to run through all sprinklers that you see! Also to stay hydrated I usually consume a high-water content fruit (such as watermelon) approximately one hour before exercising.

  8. Cake = yes. Oooh, I just got sent some Luna bars in the mail but not that flavor! Darn it, it sounds good!

    Crossing fingers for you at the doctors…also that salad looks great but yeah – nothin’ better than bread and buttah!

  9. MMmm! Cookies and cream is divine although my favorite hands down is the white chocolate macadamia! And oh your abundance of Fage makes me want some so bad!!

  10. i live and die by my camelbak!!

  11. That seems like a fun salad, I’ll have to think of something to replace the chicken with… or not, and just have it as a snack.

    I might have told you this before, but when I had IT band pain, I refused to take the anti-inflamatories that my doctor prescribed, just because I generally think that you should listen to your body’s signals and not mess with them. But eventually, after weeks of 10-minute runs that ended in pain, I got so fed up and took them, and I got instantly better. I was running for 30 or 40 minutes within a week!

    Anyway, I’m not saying take them, but if you find that progress isn’t being made, think about it.

    Good luck with it, I know how much not being able to run sucks!!

  12. The salad sounds amazing and I agree with Nate – it seems like great fuel!

    To stay cool, I always wear a hat and I dial my runs down a notch. I’ve slowly started to recognize that I’m not going to be getting any PRs when it’s 95 and humid outside so I take the time to enjoy my surroundings and listen to some good tunes :)

    Have a great day!

  13. WF’s seeduction bread is my FAVE!

  14. I think tofu would work as a good chicken substitute in this recipe. Adding feta and dried cranberries could be yummy as well!

  15. I’m so glad I found your blog! I just started the C25K program and I’m looking for some inspiration :)

  16. Mmmm… I would add a fresh beet (cooked in the oven for about 30 minutes) to the basil salad. That would make is even more delicious and pop the presentation.

Leave a Reply

