I Like it Hot

Have you ever seen the movie Office Space? One of my favorite lines from that film is “It looks like you’ve got a case of the Mondays”. I was definitely having a tough time transitioning back into the work week yesterday, but I tried to have a productive day nonetheless. I started off with the usual coffee, an entire plastic container of organic raspberries (why do raspberries come in such little boxes??), an Oikos vanilla greek yogurt with a Tbs of PB2 mixed in, and a handful of Nate’s olive oil granola.

yogurt and Oikos

Raspberries and yogurt

Olive Oil Granola

After a morning of work, I needed a little mental break. I hit up my gym for a quickie 30 minute elliptical workout during my lunch. It felt good to get a little sweaty although I think I was hotter on my walk to/from the gym than I was on the elliptical. It was brutally hot, humid, and sunny in the city today. Thank goodness for air conditioning!
 
Lunch was brought from home (woo-hoo! for saving money) and was packed with fiber. I had a bunch of cherries and an almond butter and raspberry jam sandwich on hemp bread for lunch. And about 4 glasses of water. Trying to stay hydrated in this heat!

Cherries and almond butter sandwich

 Afternoon snackie was Newman’s Own Organics BBQ soy crisps. I liked these! They were crunchy and salty and the BBQ flavor wasn’t too overpowering. I had about 2 servings of these soy crisps (110 calories, 7 grams of protein, 3 grams of fiber per serving).

Soy crisps

At 5:30pm I busted loose from the office and headed to 38th street to meet Katie for hot yoga. I was one sweaty mess today! I think doing yoga regularly is very good for my muscles/tendons, but I was definitely feeling the effects of doing heated yoga on the hottest day of the year. During the Warrior sequence, the sweat was dripping off my arms like a waterfall. Too much information? On the walk to my gym (for a much needed shower!), I bought a Powerade and drank that along with my 2 bottles of plain water. I also had some baby carrots as a snack on the subway ride home.

baby carrots

powerade

By the time I walked in the door to my apartment, all I could think about was eating the saltiest food possible. I was actually feeling a little nauseous from the heat and lost electrolytes. Ugh. I put together a rather ghetto dinner. I promise I will cook more beautiful things soon :-)
 
Din-din was a heaping plate of tostitos with two babybel cheeses melted on top. I added about 1/3 cup salsa to the plate and chowed down

Chips and salsa

I spent the rest of the evening in my air-conditioned bedroom (ahhhh) with a bowl of mint chocolate chip ice cream and ice water.

mint chocolate chip ice cream

Around 10pm I started to feel better (hydration success!) and my hunger kicked in. I ended the night with a bowl of Kashi GLC Honey Almond Flax with skim milk.

kashiGLC

Fun Stuff:

Need help with portion control? Try these 100 calorie packs of organic peanut butter and almond butter.

Supermarkets are implementing symbols and grading symptoms to help you make healthier choices.

Need a mid-week laugh? The girls over at Skinny and the City compiled a list of funny health and diet related you tube videos.

One of my fav’s –

Evian Roller Babies

9 Responses

  1. Dude, I think that dinner looks fab. It beats mine: two pieces of toast with margarine, followed by two rice cakes with jam and a few spoonfuls of peanut butter. Ya…today is grocery day.

  2. I need to try hot yoga.. even though I’ll probably die from sweating

  3. mmmm the nachos look good! hahah. sometimes its fun to have a simple meal like that!

  4. You are too cute and I loved catching up on your weekend! Just read all your posts since Friday: phew! Congrats to Nate on the triathlon! What a rockstar!!
    Also, all your salads have looked awesome this weekend AND that burger from Friday, I think, looked amazingly yummy and made me crave one.
    Talking of cravings, your raspberries have made me so jealous that I am heading straight over to the grocery store this second to find some!!

    Glad I am all caught up with you now! Happy Tuesday!

  5. Where do you do hot yoga? I’ve been thinking of trying it, but I am a little nervous?!

    That was smart to bring the powerade, I would do the same.

  6. I’ve been curious about those Newman’s Own crisps! I love those little packs of almond butter :)

  7. Electrolyte loss does suck… have you tried salt tablets? I take them before I run- they make recovering afterwards waaaaay easier. And yay for raspberries- now I know I’m not the only one who eats the entire container!!

    http://runningstronger.wordpress.com/

  8. Hi I just found your blog. Love it! I’m also a runner and on days where I feel like I’m losing a lot of water, I like to eat canned soup. Although the sodium is not great, the saltiness really helps.

  9. Those Newman crisps looks good! I LOVE the movie, Office Space, btw. Such a classic.

Leave a Reply

