7 Sunrise Miles

My legs feel best as soon as I wake up (i.e. sitting at my desk all day exacerbates the inflammation in my hamtring/piriformis). With that in mind, I woke up at 6am on Tuesday and hit the pavement. After my morning coffee and some stretching, I set out on sunny morning run. The first 15 minutes were pretty rough – I was tired and my muscles felt stiff. However, after the initial few miles, I started to loosen up. I ran to Van Cortland Park (in the Bronx) and back for a total of about 7.25 miles in 1 hour, 10 minutes. I arrived home sweaty and glowing. After cleaning up and re-hydrating with water, I sampled a luna cookie that I received in the mail. I tried the Pomegranate Berry flavor and was not very impressed. The flavor wasn’t bad, but it was ridiculously small. I can’t believe this very tiny “health” cookie contained 140 calories. I ate half and gave the rest to Nate. I like regular luna bars much better!

Luna bar cookie

 
I ate an apple on the subway and then dug into my breakfast when I got to my desk. I think this was the first time I’ve ever made overnight oats and I was very skeptical. Would it be too mushy? Too crunchy? Tasteless? I’m happy to say – my overnight oats were AMAZING! They don’t look very pretty, but they were very yummy. I think the addition of PB2 really pushed them over the top :-)

apple

Overnight oats

The night before I mixed the following ingredients into a tupperware. I mixed in another 1/4 cup of skim milk right before eating.
  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned, rolled oats
  • 1/4 dried cranberries
  • 1 Tbs PB2 (powdered peanut butter)
  • 6 oz. plain Oikos organic yogurt
  • 1/4 cup skim milk

I felt pretty good after my run, but unfortunately I had a lot of inflammation in my hamstring/piriformis muscle throughout the workday. I know it’s from sitting so much! Every 45 minutes or so I try to get up and stretch. I also take walks on my lunch break to loosen up the muscles and I roll my hamstring on a golf ball to release tension. I think I need something a little bigger though – perhaps a tennis ball?? I think a professional massage would help too. Oh, and an unlimited bank account to pay for professional sports massage :-)

Lunch was a cafeteria salad:

Salad

  • romaine, shredded carrot, mushrooms, red onion
  • 1/3 cup chickpeas
  • feta cheese
  • scoop of roasted veggies
  • spoonful of sun-dried tomato pasta salad
  • whole grain croutons
  • Tbs balsamic vinaigrette

Afternoon snack was the rest of my Newman’s Own Organics BBQ soy crisps. I probably had this pile of crisps x 2. I like how crunchy these are – perfect for helping me avoid the 4pm blahs.

Soy crisps

I walked a mile or so up the West side before getting on the subway – it’s amazing how much some walking and stretching can help my leg! When I got home I wasn’t feeling very hungry (strange…), so I decided to bake some banana bread. I had a bunch of frozen bananas that needed to be used up so this loaf ended up being very moist and banana-y.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup dark chocolate chips
  • 2 eggs
  • 6 Tbs butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup greek yogurt
  • 5 small bananas mashed (if frozen, allow to thaw)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Baking

Directions:

  • In large bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking soda, salt, and chocolate chips
  • In medium bowl, whisk together melted butter, eggs, yogurt, vanilla extract, and mashed banana
  • Add wet ingredients to the dry and stir just until combined – do not overmix!
  • Pour batter into a greased 9 ” x 5 ” pan and bake at 35o degrees for about an hour
  •  Bread is done when toothpick inserted into center and comes out clean  – cover loaf pan with foil if the top begins to brown too quickly.
  • Allow bread to cool in pan for 5-10 minutes and then gently tip out onto baking rack. Allow to cool completely.

banana-chocolate chip bread

Dinner was an organic Rudi’s wheat bagel topped with the remainder of my almond butter (maybe 1/4 cup?), raspberry jam, and a banana.

AB & J

As soon as the banana bread cooled a little bit, I enjoyed a thick slice of chocolate chip-banana goodness along with some skim milk.

Milk and banana chocolate chip bread

Cool things of the day:

I want this peanut butter and jelly lara bar SO bad.

Regular yoga practice = eating less?

Get fit for free!

13 Responses

  1. Those soy crisps are addicting! Thanks for sending some my way!

  2. MMMMM your banana bread looks AMAZING! :)

  3. Right there with you on the Luna cookie, I would definitely not buy one myself (I got a free sample in the mail last week).

  4. Ooh lots in common here! I had the same dinner as you except with an English muffin – so good!
    Also, I have that Luna cookie packed in my lunch today from a free sample too! I didn’t like the others so I am doubtful that this will satisfy me – how tiny are they?!…I do like the bars too though. Hmm.

    Completely craving banana bread after seeing yours too. I’ve never made it before but I need to give it a go – yours looks amazing!!

  5. Hey! They have the PB&J lara bars at the Union Square Whole Foods… FYI… I may or may not have bought seven…

    By the checkouts… hope they are still there!

  6. OMG I want banana bread! Larabar is sending me some samples to try out! I hope the pb&j one is in the mix! Glad you had a great run!

  7. Oh man, that banana bread looks delish! There’s nothing like chocolate chip banana bread with a huge glass of milk;)

  8. I love choc chip banana bread!!!! I went through a spree where I made a loaf almost every other day haha because we went through it so fast!

    Also, I am giving away a Spi-belt (running belt with pouch) giveaway on my new blog (I recently moved from blogspot to http://www.ChicagoMarathonVal.com) if you are interested! :)

  9. That banana bread sounds like a good recipe. I never have luck with banana bread but maybe that recipe will work for me

  10. I need some of your mojo…7 miles is AWESOME!!! I’ve been in a running slump lately; I’m thinking your blog could be quite inspiring for me to get me back into it!

  11. Ah! I’ve had “bake banana bread” on my list of things to do FOREVER now! I think you may have just inspired me to finally do it! :)

    And I LOVE those BBQ soy crisps…aren’t they delicious?!

  12. […] the evening, I also enjoyed 3 (!) slices of chocolate-chip banana bread. Yum, I love how moist this […]

  13. Thanks Lainie :-) Now’s the perfect time of year to get back into running. The upcoming cool, crisp autumn days will be perfect for runs!

Leave a Reply

